We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite - Still” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Sale - Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our favorite - Still”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at Hotel Albuquerque many times. We have always stayed in the south side room with balconies over looking the beautiful garden and patio and a view of the beautiful skyline at night. We requested a north side room this time - for something different - hoping to see some balloon launches and to rise as Sandia Mountain unveiled herself as the sun warmed her. The rooms on the North are smaller and not quite as handy. I suggest Reservations inform people when their reservations are made.
We checked out for 2 days to visit another portion of New Mexico and came back to Hotel ABQ on Friday - requested a southside room - and the rest is sublime history.
Cafe Plazuela is excellent and served us a beautiful - filling breakfast with southwest fair to traditional bacon and eggs. Always enjoy Cafe Plazuela.

Room Tip: request a south side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for being our guest. It is great to hear that you stay with us frequently. The south side rooms are most often requested because of the balconies that overlook the garden however, the north side rooms also have a great view of the Sandia Mountains.
We appreciate you taking the time to visit other areas of our beautiful state. New Mexico has so much history and a very unique culture that we feel it is important to preserve it so we do our part by providing a percentage of the hotels room revenue to support the construction of the alter in the Gaspari Chapel at the San Felipe de Neri Church in Old Town. By doing this, it allows our guests to be a part of this as well. So each time you stay with us, you have also contributed to this important cultural cause. Thank you, we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    300
    102
    48
    42
See reviews for
160
274
77
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a charming and beautiful hotel right next to Old Town. Great rooms with nice amenities. beautiful lobby and very nice grounds. Excellent restaurant on ground floor. Convenient location off the I40 and near the I15.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the comments about how charming and beautiful Hotel Albuquerque is. We appreciate receiving great reviews and hope that we continue to be your choice hotel when you return to Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for my business meeting.Very nice hotel and meeting rooms.Front desk were very helpful. Bed needs some improvement.Exercise room very small. We walked to old town and was very good.Room service were great. i will stay again and will recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, we would love to have you back as our guest and we appreciate you recommending Hotel Albuquerque to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a room on the north side of the 10th floor with a lovely view that included Sandia Peak to the northeast. The Southwest flavor of the hotel makes it a nice place to stay over one of the many big chain hotels in the area. As noted in other reviews, the close proximity to Old Town, museums and the interstate make it a great location for exploring on foote, nearby, or heading out for a day-trip to one of the Pueblos or up to Santa Fe. We ate only breakfast at the hotel and thought the food was very good and reasonably priced. The restaurant waitstaff, as well as other staff we interacted with were warm and friendly. We will certainly consider staying here again on our next trip to Albuquerque.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the great comments. There are so many local attractions to see near by. Easy access to the interstate will get you to any of our pueblos which you will find in any of the four directions. The Indian Pueblo Cultural Center is a great way to start where you can get more information about the 19 pueblos to visit in New Mexico. Santa Fe is also a short drive from Albuquerque and if you enjoyed staying with us, you'll find our Santa Fe properties to be very accommodating as well. We are gald you stayed with us, and hope you return to experience more of our New Mexico Culture
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a really nice hotel with great customer service my only complaint is that I went down to the pool in the morning to swim at the opening time and it was not open. They were cleaning the pool and I had to wait about 20 minutes before they let me in. Other wise it was great and very close to old town plaza, restaurants and shopping ( walk 2 blocks )

Room Tip: we had a top floor jr suite room with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We appreciate your comments. Our pool is checked thoroughly each day and my apologies for the delay in getting it open. We want to ensure that it is ready for our guests to enjoy. Your feedback is important and i will share your comments with the appropriate staff member. Thank you for staying with us and completing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Two couples travelling together had rooms opposite one another on 4th floor. Room on south side with balcony is slightly larger and there is a small vanity area near bathroom. Room on north side did not have a balcony but had a view of balloons. It is somewhat smaller and entry to the bath is from the room itself, rather than the hall leading into the room. (Hope that makes sense!) We had a very nice breakfast at the hotel. The property is beautiful and very evocative of the area. It used to be a Sheraton and this is much nicer. Only thing they need to change are little old TVs!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Our rooms with a balcony is most preferred, however, as you mentioned there is also a great view while staying in the rooms on the opposite side. The beauty of our property is unique, no where in Albuquerque will you find the same architecture, landscaping and interior design that you find at Hotel Albuquerque. Continued improvements are ongoing so eventually we will be replacing our TV's. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel was in great location. Able to walk to many attractions. We rented bikes one day from Routes Bike rentals. They deliver right to the Hotel. The Hotel was very accommodating with the bikes. The restaurant had an excellent breakfast. I am sure dinner was good but ate offsite mostly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side that had balcony's. I would reccomend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hotel Albuquerque is in a great location, our guests find it very convenient to be a short walking distance to several museums and the many shops in Old Town. Renting a bike is a great way to see other attractions near by. We are close to walking trails and bike trails that will take you alongside the scenic Rio Grande. We're glad you stopped by the restaurant. If you thought breakfast was excellent, you're sure to enjoy our dinner options, our sizzling fajitas and shrimp tacos are outstanding! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#22 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#22 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.