We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can definitely recommend this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Sale - Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Can definitely recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our 1st visit to New Mexico and this the first hotel of a 3 week trip. The foyer is really lovely and a nice welcome to the New Mexico style. We had room 901, which was a little too near the elevator for my liking but we had 2 x queen beds with great mattresses and pillows so managed to sleep well. The pool area is huge - we saw many pools on our trip and this was the biggest. Location to Old Town perfect and a stroll across the parking lot to Seasons Grill - this is a must - see my separate review. Value for money was good - we've paid much more for hotels of less quality. The front desk staff were efficient and pleasant. My only puzzle was housekeeping - we left the hotel room at 10am on Sunday to go shopping and returned at 4pm but the room hadn't been cleaned. It was actually not cleaned at all during our 2 night stay i.e by the time we checked out on monday morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are pleased that you chose to stay with us. We appreciate the great comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that your room was not cleaned. I have reviewed this with our Rooms Division Manager and we are currently addressing this with our housekeeping staff. Thank you for your review. We hope you stay with us again when your travels bring you back to New Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    302
    102
    48
    42
See reviews for
161
275
77
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

One of us attended a conference held at the hotel, while the partner came along and played tourist. Conference was well managed and easily accessible. Hotel consists of a tower from the sixties and more recent lower buildings for amenities, conferences, etc. The hotel is stylish and well maintained. The rooms have been renovated and are quite large, but the HVAC seems dated and we had constant problems with it. The grounds are beautiful and there is a magnificent pool with whirlpool. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Food in the Cafe Plazuela is excellent and very reasonably priced. Good location near Old Town and museums and good access to downtown and Nob Hill via express bus service along Center Ave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad your conference went well and you were able to visit a few sights on your trip. The Nob Hill area and Old Town are both great places to visit. I am sorry about the problems you encountered with the air conditioner. We have been replacing units so this will eliminate most problems.
Our location in Old Town is great. We are lucky to be located in the heart of the city where there is so much history. We think it's important to help preserve our unique culture, therefore Hotel Albuquerque donates a percentage of room revenue to help with the renovation of the Gaspari Chapel at San Felipe de Neri Church in Old Town. By staying with us, you have also helped to support this cause.
Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, right next to Old Town. The room was large, clean and well appointed with a balcony that overlooked the city. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The front desk staff were helpful. There is a restaurant but we did not use it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad our staff was helpful during your stay. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting the area. It is one block from Old Town and its shops and restaurants so could not be more convenient. Friendly front desk staff, clean and large room. The bed was terrific and very comfortable. The a/c was a bit on the noisy side, but we always use ear plugs when traveling. We stayed on a Monday night so were not able to try the restaurant, which I heard is pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize about the noisy air conditioner. We have been changing some units out. We appreciate you completing a review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I attended an annual convention at Hotel Albuquerque. What a great location and staff. Our meals were superb. The meeting space was precisely what we needed. The decor was inspiring. The beds are comfortable. After a busy week in the office, coming to Hotel Albuquerque, I found the relaxation and pampering that I needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We are glad that you were able to relax while still having to attend a conference. We hope that your entire group enjoyed their stay as well. Thank you for completing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Last week, I attended the annual convention of a professional group I belong to. This year's location was Hotel Albuquerque, and it was a perfect spot for us. The rooms have older features (CRT TVs, no fridge/micro, etc.) but are well-maintained. The staff, especially housekeeping and maintenance, were extremely warm and friendly.

We held our opening mixer/reception in Casa Esencia, an adobe home on the front of the property, which apparently functions as a nightclub on weekends. It's a fantastic venue for mixers, and they had different stations of the meal set up in each room so people were forced to move around and mingle.

The convention rooms were nicely located (not too far to walk) with restrooms nearby. The onsite restaurant was outrageously delicious and reasonably priced, at least for breakfast (which I had three times; never ate lunch/dinner there). The huevos rancheros and the Blue Mesa hash were my favorite plates; huge servings of food for $10-12. I also loved that the hotel is adjacent to Old Town, so it's easy to walk over (we ate a few times at La Crepe Michel, a little French place specializing in crepes ... Oh.My.Yes.). The convention food on a whole was VERY well done, especially given that my group had non-standard dining (all vegetarian, lots of vegans, a few gluten-free folks). They did it all well.

The only problems we experienced were: (1) one morning one of the elevators was out of service; no big deal, because there was a second one, and (2) one evening the WiFi went out, but after a call to the desk, it was reset and up again within 30 minutes.

So, overall, I would definitely stay here again, for personal or business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We appreciate your review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel without being one where you pay hundreds of dollars extra for every little thing. It is a nice luxury feel hotel without the luxury price. They had free internet which was very nice for me on a business trip. The view from the rooms is nothing special, but not bad. On the weekend mornings you can see the hot air balloons fill the sky from your room window. The convention area is nice and big. The garden area outside is really pretty and peaceful to walk around in. The hotel is right outside of Old Town which is a nice place to walk around and browse the local shops. They were also filming a movie within a block of the hotel the first day we got there which was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side offer a window view of the balloons on weekend mornings Rooms on the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.