We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay at Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast in Old Town
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anaheim
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay at Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Recently refurbished, this hotel retains much of the old town ambiance. I have traveled all over the world on both business and personal vacation and can truly say there is no more friendly staff than here. From the maintenance personnel to the maid staff to the front desk, you can pass by some one without them wishing you a good day, engaging you in conversation or asking if you are having a good stay at the hotel. I wish every place I stay could be this friendly. Te
he room furnishings are a little dated, but the rooms are nice. Good value though. Within an easy walk of Old Town.

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    328
    107
    51
    43
See reviews for
175
303
81
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

the lobby area is nice and updated. But the room wasn't very clean (tortilla chips and a pill on the floor near the bed) and the noise of the AC cycling on and off was awful. It kept waking us and our baby up. When I asked the front desk, they said all AC units were that loud and changing rooms wouldn't help. We are moving to a better hotel after my work meeting is over.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. I apologize about the noisy air conditioners. We are servicing all our units as we prepare for the busy summer months. We hope you come back to see us again, i'm sure our staff will do all they can to ensure you have a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel. I always try to book hotels that reflect the local character of a place as opposed to a national chain because they usually provide better service and a better experience, but I was disappointed in this one.

The rooms are very dated. This is obviously an older building that has not undergone much updating. The lobby and public areas were nice, but it seems that all of the attention has been placed there and not in the guest rooms. Our room had two air-conditioning units, but one was turned completely off when we arrived and the room was very warm. We turned it on and realized quickly that it had been turned off because it was so loud and made such a horrific noise it was impossible to carry on a conversation, much less sleep with it on. We turned it off to sleep and just turned the temperature way down on the other, but the room was still a little warm for our taste.

The room was also oddly shaped. We booked a jr. suite and appreciated the extra space, but due to the shape of the room, it was difficult to see the television from anywhere in the room, and it could not be viewed at all from the seating area. The bed was situated right beside the closet, which had mirrored sliding doors, so while in bed, you could always see yourself in the mirrors. Very odd.

The bed was very uncomfortable, as well. All of the pillows were flat or lumpy. I called housekeeping to request firmer pillows, but I was told that there were none, so we tried to make do with what we had. I do not like down bedding in all but the coldest climates, and since it was very warm in the room due to the air-conditioning issues, we removed the duvet from the bed and were just going to use the extra blanket we found in the closet. When I spread the blanket out over the bed, I noticed a huge yellowish white crusty stain in the middle of it. I can only imagine what it was! I called housekeeping again to ask for a replacement blanket, and one was brought up quickly, but I still questioned its cleanliness.

The hotel provides free wireless internet access, but it was nonfunctional for the entire first day and night of our stay. I called the front desk several times to ask about it and was told they were working on it. We had some access the second day, but it was very spotty. I appreciate it was provided without additional charge, but I would happily pay for something that consistently worked.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. If you walk all the way through the conference areas, you exit the hotel right across the street from Old Town. We were disappointed that there did not seem to be any way to get back into the hotel on this end though, forcing us to walk back to the front of the hotel through the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for ways to improve so we will use this information to fine tune our operation in hope that you will return. You can be assured that all key managers will have received your comments and will address each issue.
Thank you for booking with us, we appreciate you giving us an opportunity to serve you and we hope that you will return in the future to see all the improvements we will have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Mainly the price, I thought was a bit on the high side. The room was fine, large enough with one king bed, clean, the tub didn't drain fast enough so at the end of the shower I was in ankle deep water, front desk staff very friendly and accommodating, It is next door (walking distance) to Old Town Albuquerque. For me it is 3.5

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side, you will have a balcony, the other side of the hotel just has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the slow running drain, we appreciate you letting us know about this problem and we have corrected it. I'm glad to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating, we do our best to provide the best service we can. We hope you return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Albuquerque one night. Rooms were fine if they were priced much lower. I did not feel the room was great value for the price paid. The room was small with an old CRT television. It also lacked amenities such as a refrigerator that are standard in many other rooms. I felt as though the carpet was old and outdated. I noticed the tub had been painted over. The old color was showing through in several places. Walls were paper thin and could constantly hear the room next door having what seemed to be normal conversation as well as guests walking in the hallway. Our room did have a balcony overlooking both downtown Albuquerque and the Sandia Mountains, and the view was fantastic. Actual cream with the coffee service was also appreciated. The staff there was wonderful. They saved a stay that would otherwise have been below my expectations. They were very friendly and helpful. They made me feel at home. I feel with updating this hotel would have the ability to a gem with its location, views, and outstanding staff. The only thing holding it back is a building in need of updating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the nice comments about our staff. We are planning some renovations in the near future. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was there for a conference in May, 2012. The facility is done in a classic, south-west motif. Very warm, calming, comfortable and inviting. The common areas are all delightfully decorated. The are are garden areas and out door seating (including rocking chairs) to relax it. There are several sections that would serve well for a wedding or reception (I believe there is a chapel like building on site). The pool is away from the main building but nicely isolated, extremely well done and maintained. Jacuzzi there as well. Rooms were comfortable (bed was great), quiet, fully equipped, well maintained. Conference center rooms were clean, versatile, well lit and comfortable. Staff was exceptionally courteous and professional and made good suggestions about activities in the area. It's about 2 blocks from Old Town. I'd definitely stay there again and I hope to encourage conference organizers that I work with to host a meeting there. I can't remember when I was last that relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for a great reveiw of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My stay at the Hotel Albuquerque as a business traveler was a wonderful experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean (I had a balcony)! The Business Center was so easy to use and the conference coordinators were wonderful to work with. The Information Technology personnel were especially helpful with making our trainers comfortable with the technology they were going to use for their classes.

All personnel...front desk...restaurant...housekeeping...were hospitable and more than helpful. Several times they went above and beyond.

The hotel was a very convenient walk to wonderful restaurants and Old Town. If you use Sunport Shuttle to and from the airport, you will only pay $28.00 round trip.

I live in the Southeastern region of the United States where we are know for hospitality. Hotel Albuquerque demonstrates that hospitality reaches the Southwestern region as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the great comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that our staff went above and beyond to accommodate you. We hope all our guests feel this way as we make a daily effort to please our guests with the best of service in hope they will have a splendid stay and return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#10 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.