We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Adequate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Albuquerque East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Albuquerque East to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Albuquerque East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Hotel Circle NE, Albuquerque, NM 87123 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #107 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Pomona, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Barely Adequate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

On the positive side this hotel was easy on and off access to I-40 and located within walking distance to an Applebees, Target, and some other strip-mall stores. The lobby was tastefully decorated. On the negative side though, this hotel did not live up to our expectations. The rooms themselves were very dated and the few towels provided were very rough and harsh. We were the first ones down to breakfast at 6 a.m. but it was cold and tasteless. There was a syrup container but you couldn't pour any out. The coffee was okay. For the price $66.11 it wasn't awful, but certainly not what we would have expected from a Howard Johnson. Next time we will check out the Holiday Inn Express which is right next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    27
    26
    43
See reviews for
50
35
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo Colorado
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

First off, it was difficult locating the room assigned to us as they have several buildings disconnected. We didn't like the fact that the hotel property was fenced in but you parked your car on the outside of the fence area. After several tries, we could not get the room unlocked. Even the maid couldn't get it unlocked which required a trip back to the front desk. Another room was assigned but the 2nd room had a terrible strong order. Could have been glue for the new carpet however, we couldn't open the dirty window because it had been screwed shut. Within minutes we both started getting sick. As we were headed back to the front desk to get a refund the maintenance man showed up at the room across the hall from the room we were leaving. I overheard the guest tell maintenance that the water was lukewarm after running the hot water for a long long time and, the water was yellow. They claim the rooms had been renovated but the only renovation we could determine was possibly new carpet and beds. The carpet in the hallway was wrinkled and wavey. I will say one thing, the front desk person was very pleasent and did try to accomadate us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhafiz a, night auditor at Howard Johnson Albuquerque East, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Night Auditor
Quality Inn and Suites
505-271-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel two different times. The staff is very welcoming and personable. One time I was too late for breakfast but I was still served up some danish and muffins with no problems. My rooms were clean and comfortable stocked with a microwave and fridge. They also have some really nice suites and even a room that is like a one bedroom apartment. This will now be the place I come. Jacob, Tessa, Joseph and the night guy (didn't get his name) et al are awesome!
to stay when in ABQ

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhafiz a, night auditor at Howard Johnson Albuquerque East, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Night Auditor
Quality Inn and Suites
505-271-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is the worst place I have ever stayed! It doesn't even qualify for a rating! Sticky substance outside the door that stuck to our shoes, filthy carpet, awful bed, tub wouldn't drain, sink faucet loose, towels shoddy, door didn't seem secure. I could go on and on! We are traveling across country and were extremely tired, so did try to get a few hours of sleep. On hindsight, we should have moved on as it was a sleepless night! ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhafiz a, night auditor at Howard Johnson Albuquerque East, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Night Auditor
Quality Inn and Suites
505-271-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Best place we stayed on our last trip. Also the cheapest. The staff there was awesome and went out of their way to make our stay great. Clean rooms and the front desk even called to make sure we were happy with our room.

Room Tip: I think they all would be nice at this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhafiz a, night auditor at Howard Johnson Albuquerque East, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Night Auditor
Quality Inn and Suites
505-271-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel saturday after a long day of traveling we decided to stop for the night. We decided on this hotel because of a coupon for $49 a night ( which by the way was a steal ) When we checked in we were greated by a very welcoming front desk attendant by the name of Jason who was very nice and friendly and welcoming. He checked us in without incident was very informative and even recomended a great resturant for us which he even called and set our reservation for us. We have a family reunion approaching in August which I hope this hotel can be our host. WE RECOMEND THIS HOTEL HIGHLY

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhafiz a, Night Auditor at Howard Johnson Albuquerque East, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Night Auditor
Quality Inn and Suites
505-271-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This property didn't live up to the description on the web site. Room was clean, but looked "old" and came with the latest(?) 27" tube TV set. Rather difficult to find if you don't know the area. There was no information book in the room, but I did track one down. The lady working the breakfast was very friendly and helpful, but the food left something to be desired. We had planned to stay two nights, but left after one.

Room Tip: I don't know where the "good" rooms are.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhafiz a, night auditor at Howard Johnson Albuquerque East, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Night Auditor
Quality Inn and Suites
505-271-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Albuquerque East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Albuquerque East

Address: 25 Hotel Circle NE, Albuquerque, NM 87123 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Hotel Circle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Albuquerque East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shadows of the Sandia Mountains, our hotels sits directly on the corner of Exit 165 (Eubank Blvd.) And Interstate 40. Get a pleasant nights sleep in our updated rooms with contemporary furniture, LED Flat Screen TV's, and Pillow Top Mattresses. Start your day with our Complimentary Hot Breakfast with Eggs, Sausage, Biscuits, Waffles, Fresh Fruits, Cereal, and more. Weekend breakfast includes Green Chili and Hash browns. Use the day to relax in our Olympic Size Pool and Hot Tub, or enjoy a walk through the Foothills of the Sandia Mountains. We've got great restaurants all within walking distance of our hotel, as well as many convenience shopping within walking distance of our hotel. So come stay with us, we'll treat you like family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Albuquerque East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Hotel Circle
Quality Inn Circle
Albuquerque Quality Inn
Quality Inn Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Albuquerque East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.