We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay in a dump, stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Inn Albuquerque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Inn Albuquerque to your Saves list
Plaza Inn Albuquerque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Medical Arts Avenue NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
ND
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you want to stay in a dump, stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

The reviews I saw on this before we went said the place was decent. I guess I'm not exactly sure what decent is as the staff was rude and the rooms were gross, dirty and worn. The pictures on the Priceline website are very inaccurate! We were moved to 3 different rooms before we actually got one that was cleaner (not clean) than the others. Everything was worn and the doors were falling off the hinges of the entertainment center. The pool was dirty as well as the hot tub. We were getting ready for bed one night and strangers came in, as they were rented the same room! So I guess if you like to stay where things are disgusting, unfriendly and you may be able to share your room with strangers, than stay here!

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — CLEANLINESS OF THE ROOM
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    53
    63
    72
See reviews for
60
64
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Novato, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

This hotel photoshopped the hell out of their website. The deck collapsed while we were there and the hot tub was so nasty. The chair in the hotel room was so dusty that I wouldn't even put my luggage on it. The free shuttle made us wait 45 minutes on a street corner in the middle of nowhere. We changed hotels the next day.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

I liked the hotel, but didn't love it. The hotel's website makes it look alot nicer than it actually is. The pictures might be from when they first opened! The queen bed room is alot smaller than what is shown on the internet. Overall, we enjoyed our stay though.

  • Liked — the room was clean
  • Disliked — the room was small
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

We booked this hotel after looking at the tripadvisor reviews. I saw both negative and positive reviews and thought we'd take a chance. Seemed like a good deal for the money. If you are going to book with this hotel PLEASE remember to ask for an odd numbered room. We forgot and recieved an even number room. When we got to our room we were very suprised at how old and ratty everything looked and the room was VERY small. Granted the room was still clean and the bed was pretty comfortable, the 2 most important things to me. However, the bathroom was a regular size bathroom and shower. Nothing like they show on the Expedia website. I'm guessing those are the rooms across the hall? The bathroom had multiple issues as far as maintenance with peeling wallpaper and a badly chipped sink. It was clean though so we sucked it up for the night. The halls did have a weird smell, but the continental breakfast in the morning was fabulous. I don't know if I would recommend this hotel however, unless you get the newly renovated rooms.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

Our experience with this hotel was a positive one, overall. It is a decent, older property in a good location near the University and medical centers. It appears that discounts are frequent, so the hotel is a good value.

As noted, the hotel is multistory property that was renovated several years ago. The decor of the rooms was contemporary with pretty nice furniture, although the rooms and common areas probably could use some freshening up. The beds were firm and the bedding was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Although not a big factor for us, the hotel provides complimentary breakfast, including hot waffles. The hotel is pet friendly.

Because the hotel is older, there may be some mechanical issues from time to time. We encountered a heater that was pretty loud and somewhat difficult to set the temperature control. The drain in the tub was slow.

If you are looking for a place to stay in this part of town that won't break your budget, this hotel is definitely worth considering.

  • Liked — Good value in a good location
  • Disliked — The building is older
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

I booked this room based on price through travelocity and proximity to airport. i got scarred after i read some bad articles that were written from this year. Some of them talked about a run down hotel and crime, but i found that far from the truth. I thought it was a great place. I stayed on my way in and on my way out. I stayed on the side facing the hospital (smaller room) and the side facing the freeway (large room). Both rooms looked like the pictures in the add. The hotel face does not. It looks like its going to be a run down dump, but the rooms were excellent. It is pricier than other more luxurious places around town (embassy suites, holiday inn, etc) , but competative if you get the internet rate. Ask for an odd numbered room, they are facing the freeway and much larger. The even number rooms have the same contents, but they are packed into 25% less space.

The bar has a local crowd of older folks who are friendly, and the restraunt is reasonably priced and pretty good (denny's style menu). The entire staff on both my stays were very friendly.

There is a free shuttle to the airport (didn't know that when i first got there; $15 cab ride). The shuttle will take you to other places than just the airport. Just call the hotel when you get there and they will come pick you up.

There is an enterprise car rental a couple blocks away that is cheaper and will get you to the airport as well.

It's an excellent hotel for not being a chain. I will stay there again. I highly recommend it. Anyone who had a bad experience there in recent months must have had some other bad experience and just taking it out on the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — outside appearance
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

We got a great Priceline rate of $35.00 but I was leery because of a serious painful spine condition that requires me to need a hospital adjustable bed. And when you're tired from driving all day a good night's sleep is essential.

Both of the rooms we had were average size and overall hotel was somewhat shabby but the beds are new and very comfortable. The staff was great and very considerate to bring me several extra pillows so I could elevate my upper back and lower body and I had a most restful and comfortable night's sleep. Much better than staying at the Marriott in Flagstaff! So good that we stayed again on our return trip. It would be nice if they added some hardboiled eggs or egg sandwiches to their otherwise good breakfast. They also need to raise the temp of the water in the hot tub otherwise my daughter and granddaughter had a good time in the pool. Our first room the towels were a bit thin but our second room they were luxuriously thick. They also have lemonade and popcorn in the evenings that my granddaughter and I enjoyed and use of a computer for free. Great hotel for a low price and great bed. I felt great all day from a good night's sleep.

  • Liked — Great Bed
  • Disliked — Shabby
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Inn Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn Albuquerque

Address: 900 Medical Arts Avenue NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Inn Albuquerque 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Inn Albuquerque, New Mexico, over-looks downtown Albuquerque and is located amid top attractions and events. Albuquerque is New Mexico's largest city and it's also one of the state's most culturally diverse. Since its founding in 1706, Spanish, Mexican, and Native American influences have shaped the local culture, reflected in the city's distinctive Pueblo Revival architecture.The bulk of Albuquerque's cultural offerings center on Old Town, where you'll find art galleries and restaurants housed within historical adobe buildings. About a mile northeast of Old Town, the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center has an impressive collection of artifacts dating back to pre-Columbian settlers. The museum building is inspired by the Pueblo Bonito ruins of Chaco Canyon. To see a real pueblo, head to Acoma Pueblo, about 65 miles west of Albuquerque. Set atop a mesa, this dusty village-one of the oldest in the country-consists of centuries-old adobes where native artisans craft pottery with distinctive black-and-white designs. There are plenty of things to do in Albuquerque and the surrounding area but Southwest flavor isn't all you can anticipate with Albuquerque and The Plaza Inn. We like to do things a little different here, and your comfort is our top priority. The beautiful Spruce Historic Neighborhood, just behind the hotel, provides a beautiful area for walking or jogging and borders the University of New Mexico campus. If your adventure keeps you within the comfort of our hotel you're welcome to utilize the indoor heated pool and hot tub, or the hotel's exercise room - and be sure and meet us in the Coffee Bar for fresh popcorn and lemonaide every afternoon! Not only is our hotel close to many Albuquerque attractions and just down the way from the University of New Mexico, but we're also only a short distance from Albuquerque International Sunport Airport (3 mi) and approx. One (1) mile from the historic Albuquerque Railyard, which services Amtrak, Greyhound, and the New Mexico's own RAILRUNNER (providing train service for commuters and tourists traveling from Los Lunas through Albuquerque and on to Santa Fe and back ). Don't have transportation? No worries, our hotel's shuttle service is complimentary to overnight guests and accommodating within a five (5) mile radius of the Plaza Inn, it is the most expansive hotel shuttle in Albuquerque. If you are one of the many people coming to Albuquerque for your medical needs, you'll be glad to know that the Plaza Inn's convenient downtown location is within a mile of all the major hospitals including Presbyterian, Lovelace, Kindred, the Heart Hospital of New Mexico and UNM Medical Center and Cancer Treatment Center. Most of the major medical facilities and doctor's offices are within a five-mile radius of our hotel but our Complimentary Shuttle will make sure you make your medical appointments - even if they are outside of our standard operating range - and be sure and ask about our special medical and extended stay rates when making your reservations. Thanks for visiting our hotel! We hope to welcome you to Albuquerque soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Inn Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Inn Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Plaza Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Inn Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.