We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in an otherwise dull part of ABQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save $20 on upgrades!
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in an otherwise dull part of ABQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As other travelers before me have written, the moment you walk off the street and into the lobby area of the hotel you know this is a cool place to be. Check in was easy, the structure and layout of the lobby area was beautiful (and cool after the heat of outside) and the bedroom didn't disappoint.
My only criticism was the amount, or lack of, water that came out of the taps in the bathroom. They were the sprinkle-type as opposed to flow-type and it was fairly difficult to get enough water to clean teeth/hands etc.
The roof top bar (actually on the mezzanine or 2nd floor) was a lovely place to relax after a long trip from Europe.
Overall a pleasant stay and worth considering if you're in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that your expectations of our hotel were well met. As a Gold LEED Certified hotel our goal is to match luxury with environmental consciousness. We do use water saving faucets though they are designed to create water pressure without over using such a precious resource. We will definitely express your concerns to our engineering department. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    195
    66
    30
    25
See reviews for
129
399
69
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

There's a lot to like about the Hotel Andaluz... historic, green, good location. We booked for 3 nights using hotels.com at $155 a night. Should have bought a nice room, right?

Instead our room was tiny with a dreary and dark minuscule bathroom and overlooked a parking lot. The room map on our door showed that our room was about half the size of most of the others on our floor. I wondered what the heck was going on...

I asked at reception what the room rate for our room was-- $130 a night I was told, with the typical and much larger room at $139. The receptionist also said that the hotel gives our (lousy, small) type of room to the booking services to book. Soooooo we're paying a $45 premium for the nastiest room in the hotel. Do I sound pissed?
I think this is a terrible way to run a hotel, or maybe it's the booking service that's the problem. I just know I'm never using hotels.com again, nor will we ever stay at the Andaluz again. And did I mention it's $16 a day for parking and a small latte at the hotel restaurant is $5?

This is my first negative review.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a great, classic hotel that has been recently renovated and modernized. The facility is beautiful and the rooms have all the amenities you could want. We also enjoyed the rooftop bar. The hotel is located near the convention center and the Amtrak station, but otherwise you will need a car to see the sights (but that is probably true of every hotel in Albuquerque). Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are glad that you found our hotel accommodating and that we were able to meet your needs. In 2009 the owner of the hotel did major renovations bringing back life and accenting the history of this 75 year old hotel. Our staff really does have a passion for hospitality that sets the tone for a nice stay. Thank you so much for your recommendation and your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The moment you walk into the lobby you know this is someplace special - and it was... I'm sorry we only had a one-night stay here, but we really enjoyed it. Our room on the 10th floor was almost suite-sized with a king bed, couch and chair, along with a desk that held a small fridge and many electrical outlets. There were many thoughtful touches, from the safe, to the bathrobes, to the luxury linens on the canopy bed. We called for and were sent up a coffeemaker and coffee service. Both of the windows looked out over the city, and there was a large flat-screen TV in between. My husband thought it was one of the nicest hotels ever! Thanks so much

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are so thankful for your review and your kind words. We truly believe that details are what makes an experience memorable and we are happy to know that they made an impact on you. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

From start to finish, arrival to departure we experienced 5 star customer service. The Hotel is absolutely beautiful. The accommodations are amazing. We enjoyed dinner with excellent service. The food was amazing. The best wine selection. Ibiza, the roof top bar has the best place in Albuquerque to enjoy a cocktail on a perfect Albuquerque evenings. If you're coming to Albuquerque, Hotel Andaluz is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your recommendation. This year we are celebrating our 75th anniversary with parties each month celebrating a different decade. On July 26th we will be having a disco night. We hope to see you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

As this hotel was one of the 1st Hilton Hotels, it was truly a treat to experience! We had dinner at Mas-Tapas Y Vino and then went up to the rooftop bar, Ibiza. The food and drink was delicious. The atmosphere was even better!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We enjoy hearing you had a good time and that you liked the Tapas. Our goal is to provide the best atmosphere and the best food to create the best time. When we hear our that our guests had a great experience, it makes us proud. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This originally was the 4th Hilton hotel that was built in 1939 in downtown Albuquerque. It is a classy place with a true southwest feel. The staff was super helpful and accommodating. The room was beautifully updated and a great view of the downtown. In the lobby there are lovely nooks that you can sit in and have a cocktail that are all individually decorated in different themes. Overall this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel. This year we are celebrating our 75th anniversary and we hope you are able to attend one of our decade themed parties. We are happy to hear you had a great time here and found our accommodations fitting of your needs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#1 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#16 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#45 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#18 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.