We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Diamond Jubilee Package
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sherman Oaks, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Haunted?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Andaluz in January 2013 while on a business trip. My co-worker and I had rooms on different floors. Both of us didn't have the best views but the hotel was nice and charming. We found the lobby bar to be especially unique with great character. However, one night I awoke to a very strange force or puff of wind in my face. I woke up from this and was immediately unnerved. I slept with a light on for the rest of that evening. The next day I mentioned this to my co-worker, wondering if there were any stories of the hotel being haunted with its long history, etc. My co-worker told me she had a strange occurrence that same night. Her experience was vastly different than mine, she wasn't scared. She awoke to find some items next to her bed displaced and her wedding ring on the floor. She rearranged her items being sure to put her wedding ring inside her reading glasses on the night stand. In the morning her rings were not within her glasses where she had left them but instead were sitting NEXT to her glasses. While both of our experiences were for the most part harmless I agreed with her that apparently her ghost was a woman and fond of her jewelry. I'm not sure what my experience was about though. Neither of us had any other paranormal activity during our last 2 nights there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Karennla,
Thank you for sharing your paranormal experience with us! We are often asked if our hotel is haunted due to our long history, as you mentioned and since we have yet to experience anything first hand, we can now share your story! I know all of the staff enjoyed reading about our possible haunting and new unexpected guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    170
    55
    24
    22
See reviews for
105
337
65
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have stayed many places but this is the only hotel in Albuquerque worth frequenting. Responsive and friendly service, top notch rooms, great food and drink. Spring for a modest room upgrade over the standard and overall its worth every penny.

Room Tip: I prefer the Conrad Deluxe. Perfect space to expand and unwind. Also very good for business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Travis H,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and only hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The first night of our New Mexico vacation was spent in Albuquerque. Friends found Hotel Andaluz on Trip Advisor (we love your site) and were impressed by the reviews. Well, it lived up to the glowing reviews and even more so....incredible price for a large, comfortable and ultra clean room. Bathrooms are something I focus on and this one exceeded my expectations - roomy with all the accoutrements. And once again, so clean!! Staff are delightful and accommodating and address every detail of your stay with a smile and a 'thank you'. The renovated property is, in a word, gorgeous. And Lucia, the in house restaurant is very good. We highly recommend this hotel and wish to thank everyone for their New Mexico hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Carol23Maryland,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and had the chance to enjoy multiple outlets of the hotel. The owner of the property placed a lot of thought into the small details and it's great to hear you had the opportunity to indulge in it all! we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. This hotel does everything right. The room was small but comfortable with more than everything we needed. Great bed, quiet, and comfortably stylish. The building is wonderful, they have a great library, bar, and ideal places to sit in small, distinctly decorated alcoves in the lobby. Guests get passes to a great gym located across the street. The staff was great as well. And to top it off, given how elegant the hotel is, it is a great value. I doubt I will ever stay anywhere else when I go to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear kaiyamilo,
Thank you for such a kind review! We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to truly experience our Andaluz Culture. It is definitely those small, bur very important details which make all the difference. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, US
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Anyone traveling to Albuquerque should give serious consideration to staying at the Hotel Andaluz. Built in 1939 by Conrad Hilton, a native New Mexican, the renovation and preservation of the property has been so well thought through (down to the last detail) that it is a joy just to walk around and take it all in. Meanwhile the rooms are extremely comfortable with all the expected amenities, the staff are gracious and the meals we enjoyed in the restaurant (Lucia) were very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear journeyready,
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to learn about our history and enjoy multiple outlets of the property. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was large and comfortable. The huge bathtub was a dream come true for my arthritic joints. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was attentive and prompt. Not a place you can afford to visit often but a very special treat when you can. Very romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear barbara b,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our deep free standing tub in the Romance Suite. They are truly a treat! We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights before heading to Santa Fe. Its a good thing the hotel is so gorgeous because there's not a whole lot to do in Albuquerque! Lobby has six Moroccan style Casbah rooms that are amazing for cocktails or just lounging. Guest rooms were on the small side with small bathrooms but entirely adequate. They were very clean. Rooftop bar at night with modern fireplace is very beautiful and makes the hotel very inviting! Staff was helpful but not over the top in hospitality. I would stay here again for sure but for a single night before heading to Santa Fe! This hotel is a great value. You need a car in Albuquerque for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look out onto the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear trurothot,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you had the opportunity to experience our comfortable lobby and take in the day in Ibiza. Our property offers 12 different room types ranging in size pending your needs. If you are interested in experiencing a different room I am sure our front office or reservations team will be happy to assist.
See you soon! Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.