We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We absolutely loved this place and will definitely stay here again. The lobby was endlessly interesting (the kind that people actually hang out in), and the casbahs off to the side were really cool. We ended up booking a casbah in which to have dinner and drinks, and we weren't disappointed. The staff was super-friendly, the library was another great hang-out spot, and we even saw Forest Whitaker in the lobby (he was staying at the Hotel Andaluz while filming a movie). The restaurant was also quite yummy. I'm not sure what the person was talking about who mentioned drug addicts, homeless, etc...we didn't see anything like that and got out and walked around.

Room Tip: The rooms with the king-sized bed is way bigger than all of the others (seating area, bathroom, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Javadelcamp,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are glad to hear you had the opportunity to experience multiple outlets of the hotel. Our library and lobby are definitely great spots to enjoy food or drinks. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    129
    45
    22
    17
See reviews for
80
258
57
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The service here rates low. The rooms are small. The tub and floors are uneven.
This makes one feel like they are dizzy when walking upon them. There is no gym and no pool. This is downtown which is trashy and with many buildings unoccupied. Numerous homeless, gang bangers and drug addicts. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your hard earned money here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear BertNern,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your room and only wish you concerns were brought to our attention during your visit. Hotel Andaluz offers twelve different room types and I am confident we could have located a room which better suited your needs. Although our property does not have a pool or gym on site, all our hotel guests have complimentary access to the full service gym only feet away from our main entrance. I apologize this was not communicated to you upon arrival. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further as we know you have many choices when staying in the ABQ area thus please feel free to contact me at 505.242.9090 or if email is more convenient msanchez@hotelandaluz.com
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

While I have to admit my disappointment at the hotel's lack of a pool, the personnel more than made up for this! Our room (king with pull out sofa) was spacious. The hotel staff extremely helpful at all times. In fact, there was a time I'd asked the restaurant hostess to fill my water bottle. While she was away from the station doing that, some hotel staff (maintenance or maybe banquet servers?) saw me standing there and immediately asked me if I needed help. This was just one example of many. It is very apparent there is a culture of true service at this hotel.
The restaurants had good, upscale food. The service was a slow and I couldn't determine why. It wasn't overly crowded. I wondered if the set up of service stations prevented good service (had to repeayedly ask for refils)The servers were very friendly and nice, though.
As others have mentioned, the surrounding blocks are a little dicey. Practice the buddy system when walking.
I did wish there was a pool and that the workout space was within the hotel. That said, this is a lovely hotel and you won't regret your choice to stay here. We had a great view of the mountains as well.
Overall, a beautiful, beautiful space. Absolutely fantastic service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Patti H,
Thank you for your kind review. I apologize it was not communicated to you during your stay that although the hotel does not have a pool or fitness center on site, we do offer all our hotel guests complimentary access to the full service gym only feet away from our main entrance. They are fully equipped with a pool, hot tub, sauna and fitness equipment and classes. We are glad to hear however that our hotel staff created a positive experience for you during your visit. Thank you again, We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is truly a city Jem. Beautifully renovated, attention to detail is evident. Room was spacious & immaculate. I'm a linen snob and the bed was so luxurious I didn't want to leave it.
And I've stayed at many 5star resorts to compare. The roof top bar is inviting, a fun place to end your evening. The staff was attentive & competent - which is not a common combination in today's workplaces.

If I ever to visit the city again , would make Hotel Andaluz part of the deal- it was the highlight

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Moglick,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to enjoy the small but important details which make Hotel Andaluz special. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Andaluz is located right downtown, near restaurants and more. It has a rooftop deck (second floor, though) that is very stylish and "hip", playing great music. There is a happy hour 4-7 pm and the margaritas are worth the stop. The rooms are cozy (remember this is an old property) but very comfortable. They were up-to-date with very nice bedding and pillows - which is saying a lot! We waited over 30 minutes for the bellman when checking out and ended up carrying all our belongings down ourselves. The car was there, at least...but the person with our keys wasn't. I think they were a little short-handed that morning (Tuesday after Memorial weekend) so, maybe this isn't normal. All in all, I would surely recommend this property.

Room Tip: You might not want a room overlooking the 2nd floor "rooftop" deck because of noise. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Bonnie G,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the delay with luggage assistance as this is not indicative of our usual high standard of service. I am glad to hear, however that your visit was pleasant and enjoyed the comforts of your guest room.
Thank you again for your time. We look forward to having you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a really neat hotel. Rooms are amazing and reflects the $30MM spent rehabing. Staff is very friendly and responsive. Although we were next to an elevator room was still very quiet and comfortable. Bear in mind we were only there 1 night but very favorably impressed. The lounge area is fantastic and we got there early enough to get one of the 6 or 7 private alcoves and listen to live music. You can also reserve the alcoves which comfortably seat 6-8 and service is quite good for cocktails and dinner. The drawback to us was location. No restaurants within walking distance per the front desk and Old Town was 1.6 miles away too far to comfortably walk. If you are there just for the hotel you will not be disappointed. If you are there for good location for walking to restaurants etc you will be disappointed. We wanted to see Old Town and had to wait 20 minutes for a Taxi although the Valet called 3 times. The taxi we finally got we hailed. If you have a car then location may be irrelevant. But with a car be mindful that the unloading zone for valet parking can be easy to miss. It is on the right side of Copper Street just before 2nd street. While waiting for the taxi I noticed several cars circling before finally figuring it out. They really need a larger sign.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Tony0146484,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It seems like there may have been some mis communication with the front office regarding dining options. In our area there are multiple restaurants including our own, within walking distance such as Brazilian, Sushi, Thai and American cuisine. We are glad to hear however, that your visit was pleasant and you had the opportunity to enjoy a private casbah with live entertainment.
We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel Andaluz and found it to be quiet, convenient and very comfortable. The restoration of this historic hotel is quite beautiful with many unique touches. Loved the spacious bathroom and the hotel amenities. Be sure to check out the amazing book collection in the library and the art on the second floor. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear MimiN_10,
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to experience our unique library and collection of local art on the mezzanine. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque
Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.