We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our 5-year anniversary at the Hotel Andaluz and could not have been more pleased with the experience. Upon checking into our hotel room, there was champaign and chocolate covered strawberries with a note congratulating us on our anniversary. We also received a complimentary upgrade to a slightly better room. My wife and I travel frequently and have visited many upscale hotels/resorts. The Hotel Andaluz ranks among the best when it comes to customer service and room quality. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We recommend the King Suite. They include a great walk-in shower and a soaker tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Vincent T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored that you chose to stay with us for such an important occasion. We are happy to hear our staff was able to make an already special event even more special for you both!
We hope to see you back soon.

Congratulations!
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    145
    48
    23
    21
See reviews for
88
289
61
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the amazing Andaluz for three nights. After two long days of driving, we arrived. We didn't make reservations at Lucia because we weren't sure of our arrival time, and the gracious staff fit us in. We couldn't have asked for a better start to our stay - great service and fabulous food! We were also able to have drinks and appetizers in a casbah without a reservation the next evening. Our room was beautiful and impeccably clean. Thank you to the management and staff for a wonderful stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear 0724_13,
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to enjoy multiple outlets. We hope to see you back soon on your next road trip!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on March 30, the night before Easter. We were met promptly by the valet and were checked in fairly quickly. Only having one night in Albuquerque, we were looking forward to exploring the hotel and possibly reserving a casbah for dinner or drinks. However, they were setting up the whole main floor for Easter brunch, so this part was not accessible. It was beautiful, and would have been a wonderful place to enjoy a few hours of brunch on Easter Sunday (not part of our plans, unfortunately). We did stop by the rooftop bar for appetizers and a drink. We chose a seat next to the gas fireplace, but it was not working due to high winds. Every time they lit it, it would last for 10 minutes or so and then go out, leaving only gas fumes. Our room was spacious, beautiful, and well appointed. The staff called promptly after we arrived in our room to check on things. My husband discovered the remote did not work and they sent someone very quickly to our room. He brought another remote and stayed while we checked that one. It did not work either, but the third time was a charm. He returned within minutes with a working remote. All was good with the world! We had planned to have breakfast in the restaurant in the morning, but it was closed due to the Easter brunch thing. Instead we had the option of a complimentary continental breakfast--danish, fruit, coffee, tea. It was served in the library which was a beautiful setting. Overall, beautiful hotel. If you're looking for something upscale, this is the place.

Room Tip: Our room was by the elevator. Dinging woke me up a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear cdmanti,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to take pleasure in our many outlets. We hope to see you back soon, perhaps on a less windy day so you may thoroughly enjoy Ibiza!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the minute Amelia met us at the valet station we knew that we had made the right choice for our hotel in Albuquerque. We wanted to get away for a couple of days and needed somewhere close by to our home town, yet would be fun and different. We chose Hotel Andaluz because of its history and its proximity to Central Avenue downtown (Route 66). We were NOT disappointed in our choice. Amelia met us at the entrance and took our luggage up to our room. She told us to head to the rooftop bar and relax while she took our luggage up. The rooftop bar was very nice with an outdoor fireplace and Victor, the amazing dirty martini maker! We then headed to our room, a Romance Suite on the 4th floor. Wow is all I can say. It was clean, spacious, reasonably priced, and beautiful. The claw foot tub is a must for those of us who like to soak, and the sitting area is great. The room was quiet even though it overlooked a part of Central Avenue. The hotel itself is a work of splendor - the Casbah's are beautifully decorated and be sure to get with Dave for a bit of history that isn't written about in the guest guide, or on the vast array of pictures throughout the lobby. When leaving the hotel, Chris came up to get our luggage and had it in the car waiting for us as we left, even offering to throw away our trash from the car before we drove off. I can't say enough about the classiness, cleanliness and the reasonable rates at this hotel. They give you access to a fitness center very close by as they do not have one at the hotel.....all in all.....Good Job!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if possible - they are roomy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Flutefly,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and that our staff was able to make it that much more special for you. We hope to see you back soon for another weekend getaway!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Hotel Andaluz exceeded my expectations as soon as I walked into the door! The hotel exterior sort of blends in with surrounding high rises in the heart of Albuquerque, but as soon as I walked in the door, I felt as though I was transported to Buenos Aires, or some exotic, luxiourious location. The decor is very tasteful - a unique blend of contemporary and historic flair. The history of the hotel alone is very intriguing and I found it fun to look at the old black-and-white photos of what the hotel looked like back in the day. The owner is to be commended for his rennovation of this property, and the finer details make this hotel stand out above all others. My room was on the 8th floor - very quiet - and extremely comfortable - perhaps the best sleep I've had in years! Guest service is prompt and efficient. I enjoyed both breakfast and lunch in the Lucia Restaurant - it was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear IzzyColorado,
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and had the opportunity to truly experience the Andaluz culture. The owner definitely put a lot of thought into the property and all its little details, we are glad you were able to enjoy them all.
We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you're in Albaquerque, this is the ONLY place to stay. Beautiful, unique, enchanting, historical... The service is superb, the hopitality unmatched. Pamela at the front desk took care of us to perfection, and Victor at the bar was a delight. Everyone always had a smile and nice word for us while helping us with whatever needs we had--day and night. We LOVE this hotel, and will definitely be back everytime we're in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Patrick S,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so thrilled to hear you experienced our true Andaluz Culture. All of our staff enjoy interacting with our guests and we are happy to hear they created a memorable experience for you. We are excited to see you back on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A return visit across the country with our dog. This is an historic gem among old time hotels. The hotel staff is so accommodating. Restaurant great. Room comfortable. Would highly recommend a visit with or without your furry friend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Eloiseplazany,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your return visit. We hope to see you and your canine companion back soon. Safe travels.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.