We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Over Quantity - Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quality Over Quantity - Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On a recent first-time business trip to Albuquerque, I needed to choose a hotel downtown within walking distance to my business meetings. There were a few to choose from - all equal distance to my destination, so quantity wasn't an issue. It was quality that I was seeking.

As an avid reader of TripAdvisor, I looked up each hotel to read what guests were saying about the my 3 possible choices. What struck me about the Hotel Andaluz wasn't just the many positive comments about hotel guest experiences, but was that hotel management took the time to acknowledge each and every comment - positive and not so positive. That kind of guest experience focus makes all the difference in my mind so Hotel Andaluz it was!

The staff greeted me warmly. My room wasn't quite ready so I took the time to explore downtown and really fell in love with the funky area. I did not experience a great deal of homeless or panhandlers as others have posted. In fact, Central Ave, just 1 block from the hotel, boasts many restaurants, shops and bars in what I would characterize as a safe, easy walk.

The lobby and common areas of the hotel are stunningly beautiful, peaceful and well maintained. The food was fantastic. The Ibiza bar was a nice space, particularly the outdoor area with the fire feature.

My room was unbelievably beautiful with a spectacular view of the mountains. The housekeeping team did a wonderful job keeping things neat and tidy.

As a guest staying for over a week, there was never a time where I wasn't 100% satisfied with the people and the property.

Sure there are plenty of choices for a downtown stay, but if it's quality you seek, choose the Hotel Andaluz.

Well done, Hotel Andaluz! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Mark F,
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure having you as a guest and we only hope to see you more often! Thank you again, see you soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    174
    56
    25
    22
See reviews for
107
345
67
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

From the gracious check-in to the lobby "casbahs" to the good food in the restaurant — this hotel offers an out-of-the-ordinary experience in an historic setting. My organization hosted a conference here, and we received high marks for our choice of the Andaluz. The staff were all pleasant, accommodating and helpful — even with some of my extra requests (like a humidifier). The lobby is a gem, and really achieves that 'living room' ideal so many hotels are seeking. Tip: you can reserve the little alcoves (called "casbahs") for more private chats over drinks. I'd stay here again in a second!

Room Tip: The hotel offers a really mixed bag — let them know if you'd like elbow room, as some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear holdthatplane,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you and your conference attendees all enjoyed your visit! We hope to have you back soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel previously and enjoy the boutique feel of this hotel. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Some of the rooms are quite small but the large ones with the double sinks are fantastic! The restaurant has a delicious menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear mrsadiaz,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your patronage! We are so glad to hear your visits with us have been filled with positive experiences and interactions. We look forward to your next visit!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was an excellent experience for me and my wife. The historic nature of the hotel was combined with fun elements, great music and the kindest of staff - I must disagree with the previous posting as we found this hotel better than most 5 Star hotels we have stayed in in Chicago and New York at a fraction of the cost.

We will return!

Room Tip: Spa and pool are across the street complimentary at NM Sports and Wellness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Kev M,
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and are looking forward to your return!
Thank you again, we truly appreciate hearing about our guest's experiences.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room at the Hotel Andaluz, looking forward to spending our last night together before three months apart.(my boyfriend is from England, not a local) We both smoke and really appreciated that Adaluz had a rooftop bar we could smoke on. When we arrived the receptionist was helping another patron, normally no problem. We were not acknowledged for 15 minutes, the patron had well been checked in to her room and they were just chit chatting....but we had not received eye contact or a hello. When she finally did acknowledge us, we asked for their BEST queen room and asked about the bar hours. She informed us that the bar was only open in the winter Thurs-Sat. We were there on a Wednesday. Not only did she not suggest another place for us to go, she wasn't apologetic. She acted smug. Like too bad for you.
The next insult came when we got to our room. Our premium room,(300$ per night), had a stain on the comforter and the room was located next to the elevator and appeared to be a handicap room----not a problem, but not what we needed/asked for. All night long we could hear every conversation and every person that came up and down the elevator. NEXT: We were determined to have a great evening despite the rudeness we experienced in the lobby. We brought a great bottle of wine and went downstairs to ask for a bottle opener, the receptionist sighed heavily and said, I guess I can look for one. Then my boyfriend asked if the hotel provide a shuttle to town as we would like to get a bite to eat. She scoffed saying, no we don't have a shuttle but YOU can call a taxi.
We made the best of the night taxi and all...when we got our car in the morning from the valet it was frigid and not running.
We are not high class folk. We like to be treated well and do the same for others. We were truly shocked by the horrific "treatment" we received. We would not return here if the room was free.

Room Tip: get a room at Hotel Parq Central
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your post about the Hotel Andaluz. We are confused about your comments however as the hotel does not have a room rate at or above $300 per night during this period? We have researched our management logs and do not have any information of such concerns being brought to our attention during your visit and only wish we had the chance to address your feedback in real time. I am confident we would have swiftly addressed your comments. We would welcome speaking with you further to fully understand this information as it is not indicative of the Andaluz focus on exceptional service to our guests each and every time .

I can be reached at 505-923-9050 or msanchez@hotelandaluz.com.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel!! The room was spacious, clean and the bed so comfortable that I actually slept better here than at home!! The valet service was awesome as well. The hotel was centrally located downtown. The check in/check out process was smooth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear tentmaker,
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Old-style classic and elegant Southwest decor expertly fused with contemporary detailing. Placing individual entertaining / chill-out casbahs on the perimeter of the main lobby is a stroke of genius. There's a gorgeous library/business center with working kiva, in addition to complimentary computers and printer. Room included a small fridge/wine cooler; free Wi-Fi, and a desk with an expandable slide-out top with multiple electrical outlets for charging purposes. Walking distance to many downtown attractions. Close to the airport. Service was top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mark J,
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to experience the various outlets our property has to offer. We are glad your stay was memorable and only hope to see you back soon! Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.