We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super hotel in downtown Albuquerque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Longueuil, Canada
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“A super hotel in downtown Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was orginally built in the early 20th c. by native New Mexican Conrad Hilton and was at that time the tallest building in the city. It has been bought and sold many times, the latest by a local business man who had the hotel totally redesigned and renamed as the Andaluz (after the region in Southern Spain) and reopened in 2009....And it is gorgeous! The entire downstairs lobby is totally beautiful and worth a visit even if you're not staying there! We had a suite, with a living room, bedroom and bathroom (and for less than $200!). Service was outstanding and extremely professional and friendly to boot. And of course, its downtown location makes it easy for guests to visit the city. There is an affiliated restaurant (Lucia's) within the hotel building.The only small drawback is that there is no free parking although there is plenty of valet parking available at a reasonable cost.
In sum, both my wife and I loved our stay in the Andaluz and we hope to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear RAPLongueuil,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so thrilled to hear you were able to experience not only the Andaluz Culture, but learn about our histroy as well! We also hope to have you and your wife back soon. Thank you again for your kind words, we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    178
    58
    25
    22
See reviews for
114
364
69
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Seco, New Mexico, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Glorious re-do of the former La Posada in downtown Albuquerque. The original murals have been restored and lots of amazing lighting and touches added in the downstairs lobby area. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom wonderful with two sinks topped with neon green glass. Everyone we met, from the wonderful woman who checked us in to the bell staff and room service staff was courteous, friendly and real. I recommend the lemon ricotta pancakes for breakfast. Really a great experience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Cindy B,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I must agree with you, the lemon ricotta pancakes are pretty amazing. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to enjoy the little details that make our hotel so special. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From check in to thestaff in the restuaurant and bars to maid service everyone here goes above and beyond to make sure your experiance is great. If available I highly recomend upgrading to a suite. The room was outstanding. The location is perfect for touring ABQ. The decor in the hotel makes you feel like you are truly in New Mexico. We will return to this friendly place and recomend it to our friends!

Room Tip: Go for a suite. They are well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Carl M,
Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our hotel staff definitely appreciates your comments.
We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were there over the Thanksgiving weekend, 2012. It’s the second time we have been in this hotel, and I know we will be back. The entire hotel was re-named and renovated about three years ago, and they managed to find that difficult balance between keeping the hotel up to date and modern, while retaining the incredible charm and delight of the original. The staff was incredibly friendly, courteous and helpful. If you go I would highly recommend the King ‘Romance’ Suite. It includes a fantastic free standing tub, and if you are on a higher floor some nice views of the city. You may not want to leave the lobby, however. It is probably the most comfortable and lovely lobby I have seen in any hotel I have stayed in. And the prices in this place are truly ridiculous for what you get. One of these days people will ‘’discover’ Albuquerque they way they discovered Denver, so stay there while it’s still affordable.

Room Tip: The third floor will experience a little noise from the lobby and the bar if you are on the South si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Swildon,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear you had the opportunity to truly experience what Hotel Andaluz is all about! I would have to agree with you, the owner put a lot of thought into modernizing the property without compromising its roots. We definitely enjoy the atmosphere and are thrilled to hear you did as well. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this fabulous hotel over Thanksgiving to visit family. In the past, we have stayed at the Embassy Suites as I stick to either Hilton or Marriott properties traveling on businss all the time.

My wife picked this hotel basis the feedback on TA. What a choice; service was impecable. Room cleanliness and quick housekeeping along with top notch vallet car service.

Management always on site and very attentive to details. This was a Four Seasons experience without the Four Seasons price tag.

If you stay anywhere else in Albuquerque, you'll be doing yourself a disservice....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear DiverChaz,
Thank you for such a kind review! We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to truly experience the Andaluz Culture. We hope to see you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is definitely a great hotel. The decor is awesome, nothing that says "corporate" or "chain hotel". It is a boutique hotel (if I'm not mistaken), and if I am, it certainly feels like one. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The lobby is very inviting and cozy but spacious. The rooms were small, but I feel it added to the originality and ambience of the hotel, given that the hotel was built in the early-mid twentieth century. You can tell that whenever the hotel was rennovated, no stone was left unturned. Great care was put into every detail of decor. For location, you can't beat it. It's right in the heart of ABQ, very close to the night life and some great restaraunts, and a movie theater. All within walking distance. The only problem I have with this place is the parking situation. Parking is directly behind the hotel, and run by the city. The hotel has no affiliation with the parking garage (called the Acropolis). Overnight fees are $6.00, which for any downtown is a reasonable rate, but you do not have in-out priveleges. Also, and we were not told this by the garage tenant, if you leave your car in overnight, you must have your car out by 9 AM to avoid incurring additional costs. We found this out the hard way, leaving right at 12:30 PM, however the attendant told us that if we were guests of the hotel, they would validate. The hotel apparently has stopped doing this, but they were nice enough to do it for me this one time. You can also do overnight valet, for $16. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to ABQ.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dajax02,
We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit. You are correct in saying no stone was left unturned. The owner of the hotel has very carefully renovated the property with great care and detail to every nook and cranny. It is definitely what makes our property so special. We are glad to hear you had the opportunity to appreciate all the fine details thought the facility.
We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After spending the previous night in an average hotel, we decided to splurge a bit and stay here. In reality, the cost was very reasonable and well worth the few extra dollars. The hotel is located downtown and close to restaurants and shopping. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself was amazing. Very updated furnishings and an extremely comfortable bed. I can't say enough about this great hotel. What a find!!!! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear davidlspicer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that your visit was pleasant and filled with positive interactions! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Thank you again, we truly enjoy hearing about our guest's experiences.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#1 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.