We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest staff you will ever meet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The nicest staff you will ever meet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From check in to thestaff in the restuaurant and bars to maid service everyone here goes above and beyond to make sure your experiance is great. If available I highly recomend upgrading to a suite. The room was outstanding. The location is perfect for touring ABQ. The decor in the hotel makes you feel like you are truly in New Mexico. We will return to this friendly place and recomend it to our friends!

Room Tip: Go for a suite. They are well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Carl M,
Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our hotel staff definitely appreciates your comments.
We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    129
    45
    22
    17
See reviews for
80
258
57
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were there over the Thanksgiving weekend, 2012. It’s the second time we have been in this hotel, and I know we will be back. The entire hotel was re-named and renovated about three years ago, and they managed to find that difficult balance between keeping the hotel up to date and modern, while retaining the incredible charm and delight of the original. The staff was incredibly friendly, courteous and helpful. If you go I would highly recommend the King ‘Romance’ Suite. It includes a fantastic free standing tub, and if you are on a higher floor some nice views of the city. You may not want to leave the lobby, however. It is probably the most comfortable and lovely lobby I have seen in any hotel I have stayed in. And the prices in this place are truly ridiculous for what you get. One of these days people will ‘’discover’ Albuquerque they way they discovered Denver, so stay there while it’s still affordable.

Room Tip: The third floor will experience a little noise from the lobby and the bar if you are on the South si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Swildon,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear you had the opportunity to truly experience what Hotel Andaluz is all about! I would have to agree with you, the owner put a lot of thought into modernizing the property without compromising its roots. We definitely enjoy the atmosphere and are thrilled to hear you did as well. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this fabulous hotel over Thanksgiving to visit family. In the past, we have stayed at the Embassy Suites as I stick to either Hilton or Marriott properties traveling on businss all the time.

My wife picked this hotel basis the feedback on TA. What a choice; service was impecable. Room cleanliness and quick housekeeping along with top notch vallet car service.

Management always on site and very attentive to details. This was a Four Seasons experience without the Four Seasons price tag.

If you stay anywhere else in Albuquerque, you'll be doing yourself a disservice....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear DiverChaz,
Thank you for such a kind review! We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to truly experience the Andaluz Culture. We hope to see you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is definitely a great hotel. The decor is awesome, nothing that says "corporate" or "chain hotel". It is a boutique hotel (if I'm not mistaken), and if I am, it certainly feels like one. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The lobby is very inviting and cozy but spacious. The rooms were small, but I feel it added to the originality and ambience of the hotel, given that the hotel was built in the early-mid twentieth century. You can tell that whenever the hotel was rennovated, no stone was left unturned. Great care was put into every detail of decor. For location, you can't beat it. It's right in the heart of ABQ, very close to the night life and some great restaraunts, and a movie theater. All within walking distance. The only problem I have with this place is the parking situation. Parking is directly behind the hotel, and run by the city. The hotel has no affiliation with the parking garage (called the Acropolis). Overnight fees are $6.00, which for any downtown is a reasonable rate, but you do not have in-out priveleges. Also, and we were not told this by the garage tenant, if you leave your car in overnight, you must have your car out by 9 AM to avoid incurring additional costs. We found this out the hard way, leaving right at 12:30 PM, however the attendant told us that if we were guests of the hotel, they would validate. The hotel apparently has stopped doing this, but they were nice enough to do it for me this one time. You can also do overnight valet, for $16. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to ABQ.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dajax02,
We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit. You are correct in saying no stone was left unturned. The owner of the hotel has very carefully renovated the property with great care and detail to every nook and cranny. It is definitely what makes our property so special. We are glad to hear you had the opportunity to appreciate all the fine details thought the facility.
We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After spending the previous night in an average hotel, we decided to splurge a bit and stay here. In reality, the cost was very reasonable and well worth the few extra dollars. The hotel is located downtown and close to restaurants and shopping. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself was amazing. Very updated furnishings and an extremely comfortable bed. I can't say enough about this great hotel. What a find!!!! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear davidlspicer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that your visit was pleasant and filled with positive interactions! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Thank you again, we truly enjoy hearing about our guest's experiences.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here a number of times when it was called La Posada so I was looking forward to see it after the renovation. I was thrilled with the way it has been preserved and enhanced, and the rooms are very well appointed. Central location is excellent and the staff was very helpful. We highly recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear GavinF,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. I'm sure it was fun remembering what the La Posada looked like and comparing it to what it looks like now as the Hotel Andaluz. As I’m sure you noticed, the owner did an amazing job at preserving the history. Thank you again for your kind review, we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Seasoned business traveler always looking for cute boutique style hotels...love this place. History, local flavor, comfort, huge cool factor, nice restaurant, awesome staff (love the valet and Justin) and coffee service in the lobby at 5 am! If you like Kimptons you will LOVE Hotel Andaluz.

Room Tip: mountain view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Cynthia T,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear, as an experienced traveler, that we were able to WOW you! We hope to see you on many more business trips to come. Safe travels, see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque
Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list