We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Diamond Jubilee Package
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A wonderful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here a number of times when it was called La Posada so I was looking forward to see it after the renovation. I was thrilled with the way it has been preserved and enhanced, and the rooms are very well appointed. Central location is excellent and the staff was very helpful. We highly recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear GavinF,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. I'm sure it was fun remembering what the La Posada looked like and comparing it to what it looks like now as the Hotel Andaluz. As I’m sure you noticed, the owner did an amazing job at preserving the history. Thank you again for your kind review, we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    170
    55
    24
    22
See reviews for
105
337
65
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Seasoned business traveler always looking for cute boutique style hotels...love this place. History, local flavor, comfort, huge cool factor, nice restaurant, awesome staff (love the valet and Justin) and coffee service in the lobby at 5 am! If you like Kimptons you will LOVE Hotel Andaluz.

Room Tip: mountain view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Cynthia T,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear, as an experienced traveler, that we were able to WOW you! We hope to see you on many more business trips to come. Safe travels, see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We actually stayed here the last two nights of our honeymoon which we spent mostly in Taos and Southern Colorado. We were scheduled to fly out of Albuquerque and decided to stay here for two nights.I cannot say enough about the service at Hotel Andaluz. Everyone was exceedingly friendly and helpful from staff members offering to help, holding doors, or just saying hello. Lauren at the front desk (fellow Jerseyan!) was especially nice and helpful.

The indoor courtyard is beautiful with some semi-private seating areas adjacent to the bar. Unfortunately, we did not take advantage because we got downstairs too late one night and we already had enough to drink the second night.

We stayed in the Zen Den which is a great room. Spacious, nice furniture, king bed, glass shower. A bit pricey for Albuquerque in November, but hey, that's how it goes I guess.

The last night, we went to Lucia, the restaurant located in the hotel. Great decision. I will review that separately.

Overall, the hotel is fantastic. Downtown Albuquerque is a little sketchy, but then again, all of Albuquerque seems a little sketchy, so don't let that be a deterrent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear akissner,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and other outlets of the property. We are also very honored that you chose to stay with us during your honeymoon.
Thank you again for taking the time to write such a kind review. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Andaluz many times—it's a beautiful hotel with great rooms, clean, and beautifully decorated, recently renovated. In the past service has been hit and miss. However, our recent reservation and front desk experience was our best yet. David Brown helped us make our reservation on the phone - was friendly, responsive, got us a great deal which is really nice since we're "regulars." Checking in today with David again was quick, easy, and helpful and he was humorous and playful which we love. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Lisa B,
Thank you for your kind review. I must say we definitely enjoy David as much as you did! He is a riot and makes us all laugh on a daily basis. I am so glad to hear you also got to experience this first hand!
Thank you again for your review, we truly enjoy hearing about our guest experiences. We will see you next time!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Hotel Andaluz for a conference held at the convention center. The hotel is within walking distance of the convention center. The studio room was modern, clean and the staff were first rate. The hotel has a history and art to take in, the outside patio appeared to be a great place to hang out, enjoy friends and a drink. The restaurant had a nice variety of choices, good and offered at a fair price. The Andaluz is close to Old Town, though to far to walk. The Andaluz has an upscale unique feel to it..very relaxing.

Dislikes: Parking, and many items such as coffee pots, irons have to be requested.

Room Tip: Elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear 6jellybeans,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to experience multiple outlets of the hotel, while learning about our history and enjoying some local art work. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This beautiful old hotel (the 4th built by Conrad Hilton) has been completely renovated and it preserves the best of the old while layering on the best of the new. In the public spaces, elevators, and even in the rooms, you'll find lovely and unique details including murals, woodwork, and archways that were part of the original design. Every single new element has been carefully chosen so that the artwork, lighting, and furnishings are all unusual and very aesthetically pleasing. While this is a green hotel it has none of the crunchy granola sensibility that you sometimes find in sustainable properties. The quality of the air is lovely and the scent of the toiletries devine. While we had a small room and bathroom we didn't mind because overall this hotel was such a pleasure to stay at. Service was helpful and accomodating. Our favorite feature: The little alcoves (all different) off the lobby where you could relax and have a drink in private.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear SashaHodes,
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you had the opportunity to learn about our history and appreciate the architecture and green initiatives our hotel has to offer.
I would have to agree with you, the private casbahs are definitely one of my favorite parts as well, it gives our lobby a unique feature.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clearly updated and the whole hotel is very modern. We unfortunately stayed in room 601 which was right next to the elevator; it was noisy. Steer clear from that room.

The staff is extremely nice and room service is fast to respond. You can request just about any type of pillow, free of charge. The rooms are of good size with large bathrooms. The don't have a fitness room, but they do give you a pass to a gym right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Adam-Margaux,
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the many guest amenities the hotel has to offer. The pillow menu is one of my favorite features in the guest rooms!
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.