We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite! A beautiful experience...so much so that we are staying two more nights...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite! A beautiful experience...so much so that we are staying two more nights...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Hotel Andaluz is truly amazing. The huge lobby is a serene and peaceful oasis of warm and cozy New Mexican decor with 6 stunning private alcoves in which to read or have food or a conversation. The library is beautiful and quiet. The staff are A+++. David and Carlos (who is a computer whiz) are superb and were extremely kind and thoughtful as we planned our adventures each day and asked for help. We have been floored at how kind, helpful, and generous every one of them has been. One night it was a little noisy and within 5 min. all was quiet again for the rest of the night. And then the next night the Front Desk Staff sent us up a beautiful tray of cake and cheeses and drinks which was such a lovely surprise. Every single one of the staff here have gone above and beyond to make sure we are happy and comfortable.

My 9 year old LOVES it here but it is the kind of hotel where you can have a romantic get away or be relaxed and comfortable and feel totally taken care of on a business trip or enjoy being here with children and family. Lucia, the restaurant, is OUTSTANDING. I am generally suspicious of hotel restaurants but frankly I didn't want to eat anywhere else after our first night having dinner at Lucia. The food is unbelievably delicious and creative - the breakfasts are just to die for. I could eat the lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberry compote all day long. We have extended our stay two more nights because we love it here so much...and I have not even gotten to describing our visits to Tent Rocks (a must!) or Acoma Pueblo or all the other amazing activities that this beautiful place offers. Did I mention Turquoise and silver and trail riding? I just don't want to go home. Stay at the Hotel Andaluz - you will be so glad you did. A relaxing and peaceful gem of a place.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a large suite which is lovely. Room 703 was also beautiful - smaller one room with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    145
    48
    23
    21
See reviews for
88
290
62
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were here for the balloon fiesta also. The noise at night was pretty constant until 2am. Thank goodness the bed was comfortable, when you woke up in the middle of the night you could sink back into the pillow and go back to sleep. Just to be woken up again! The staff was very friendly, and the lobby is wonderful. Parking is a little strange. It would be nice to have the parking lot and the hotel a bit more connected.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Andaluz the Thursday prior to the start of the Balloon Fiesta because of the great recommendations of other Tripadvisor reviewers. Having traveled extensively in Europe and experienced boutique hotels, The Anadaluz renovations put it right up there with the best of them in appearance. We had a very large, 9th floor king room with a wonderful view of the Sandia Mountains and morning balloon ascensions. The bedding was top-notch and super comfy. The lobby with it's private alcoves of varied decor was spectacular. The edgy bar and open roof deck were quite cool. Being in the downtown area (business), it seemed quite quiet the night we were there, with few people in the street on the next day (Friday). We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but went up to the Nob Hill area for a less expensive dinner.
Why only VG rating:
We found the service average with the exception of the friendly doormen and the very helpful bartenders. Sign-in was fine, but a request for a coffee maker in the room, which they offered, never arrived. It is a green hotel, but more than two bath towels would have been nice. Without a continental breakfast as part of the room rate, a coffee maker would be a plus. Free parking might be a good perk in lieu of the lack of other complimentary features.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a view of the mountains. Quieter and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

we experienced way too many problems for a hotel of this caliber. The missed wake-up call was a real problem since we needed to be up early for the hot air balloon ascent and ended up stuck in traffic instead. Also billed us for items that weren't ours (very courteously removed them though), told us parking was complimentary when we checked in, then charged us for it at $16/day (we had to pay this). And, they lost our reservation (although they said the problem was with hotwire).

On the bright side, the staff is very helpful and supportive when problems arrise. The room service food is reasonably priced, although you should stick to what the chef knows, local cuisine. I've never had such an odd interpretation of tabouli or baba ganoush

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I would agree with the other reviewers of this hotel. The hotel is lovely and stylish. The restaurant is good and priced well. The only issue is the noise. I should have known it would be an issue when I spotted the ear plugs provided by the hotel. We were on the seventh floor, directly above the night club. The music and partying went on until 2am. Getting up 4am for Balloon Fiesta was a challange. I didn't mention it to the staff. What are they going to do?
There was absolutely no noise from the hall or other rooms. The nightclub is the issue. It seems they need to decide, hotel or night club. They don't go together well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Andaluz during the first weekend of the 2011 Balloon Fiesta and would have a really tough time staying anywhere else in this city. The beautifully renovated, thoroughly "green" building is warm, inviting, and full of character. So comfortable that we hated to leave. The lobby lounge with its secluded nooks is a fantastic place for cocktails or just conversation, the restaurant produces delicious meals, and every single person on the staff was welcoming and helpful--it seems rare these days to find staff who all achieve the perfect balance of professional and warm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Hotel Andaluz is rated at Albuquerque's only AAA 4 Diamond Hotel and is a historical property which always offers added appeal. We were at the Andaluz during the city's famed Balloon Fiesta which meant all of Albuquerque's hotels were sold out and at peak rates.

Room

We booked the highest category of room available for $289 per night plus tax. It was a junior suite sort of configuration with a small living room and a bedroom separated by a sliding door. The overall size of the room was around 450 square foot which was adequate but not overly spacious. The room was not luxurious. It was simple, basic and pleasant.

Room decor was pleasant but somewhat lacking. Plastic or vinyl baseboards? I couldn't quite figure that out. Why not use wood? The baseboards looked so tacky and cheap. Wood blinds with no curtains look ok but they let a lot of light into the room early morning.

Furniture was rather nondescript yet functional in a modern bland sort of way.

Linens were Frette and there was a great pillow menu on offer. Very 5 star offerings in an otherwise ordinary guest room.

No coffee maker was present in the room. Huge pet peeve especially at $289 per night. Upon check out I complained and was told that coffee makers were available upon request. I can see why they aren't present in the rooms because there really isn't sufficient space to put them in the rooms. Even our high category of room lacked space for a coffee maker. To the hotels' credit the very kind and highly professional front desk agent removed our room service coffee charges.

The extreme water saving shower was the biggest irritant during our stay. The showers are green "eco friendly" water savers. The shower mixes air with water to create a spray type of mist which I absolutely despise. I like a good shower with great water flow and pressure to quickly rinse the soap off of my body. The shower was a real disappointment. I fully support green initiatives and admire hotel management and owners who take the initiative to suppport serious green efforts. But the showers at the Andaluz go too far and negatively impact the guest experience.

Windows are not sound proofed and even on the seventh floor we experienced a lot of noise problems.

Gym / Spa / Fitness

Absent. None. The hotel does have an agreement with a large gym next door though.

Service

Friendly and casual can sum it up. Front desk staff are superb.

Overall this is a lovely historic hotel to visit for the public areas, bar and dining. Guest rooms are a dissapointment lacking coffee makers and lacking sound proofing. This added with the miserable showers make it impossible for me to rate the Hotel Andaluz any higher then 3 stars. It certainly isn't worth the $289 per night plus tax that we paid!

Room Tip: Rooms are very small here. Book the largest room your budget can allow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.