We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Newly Remodeled Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Andaluz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada) (Albuquerque Original Townsite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
assd
1 review
“Great Newly Remodeled Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is great and is by far the best hotel in the entire city of Albuquerque for romance. I rediscovered this hotel when I was looking for a room for our wedding night. I looked all over the city and must have looked at over 12 different hotel rooms to find the best one. I saw a lot of nice ones but none compared to the quality, decoration, mood, and amenities as the romance suite at the hotel Andaluz. Not only that but the price I paid for the room was the best out of all the rooms I had seen to because the hotel was offering a special. My wife loves bath tubes and the room we stayed in had a huge out of the floor bathtub that we could very easily both rest in (no jets though although that also adds to the relaxing classic feel that we both like and find so romantic). The Beds are AMAZING!! We do not usually sleep very well in hotel beds and even have some trouble sleeping in our own but both times we have stayed there we sleep like rocks in their beds. Lets see what else? I think that is it the hotel is great and both my wife and I love it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    146
    49
    23
    21
See reviews for
93
299
62
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We arrived late at night bone tired and not knowing what to expect from the hotel we had booked the night before. We were more than pleasantly surprised from the moment we were met by the friendly staff at the Andaluz. Hotel Andaluz was built in 1939 as the first Hilton Hotel in Mexico. Don't let its age fool you. This hotel has had an extreme makeover. And our room was very comfortable with frette linens and great ambiance. We mustered enough energy after checkin (11 PM) to go have a cocktail at their messanine level bar and patio called "Ibiza" Call us shocked when we found Ibiza packed with early 30's and 40's aged folks all glamed up under the stars having a good time to an energetic DJ beat. Too much you say? Nah...that perked us up just watching the orderly scene. So much so we came back the next night as well! Now for the service at the Andaluz. All staff from bellman to reception to our room attendant VERY friendly and helpful. Truly we find the Andaluz a welcome respite in a sea of hotels where service and attention to guests has been forgotten. Can't wait to go back to Albuquerque and you can take the bet we will be at the Andaluz!!

Room Tip: We found a 10% off coupon in New Mexico magazine and, before booking, we spoke directly to hotel res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Andaluz for four nights while visiting New Mexico. The Hotel is visually stunning with a warm and inviting lobby with many nooks with moorish designs and furnishings. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating. Housekeeping was prompt when we needed anything (you have to call for ice which is a small drawback but they were there quickly). The room was a bit tight with the sleep sofa opened (it was a blow up mattress which is 100 times better than most sleepers in a hotel, housekeeping come in to inflate it and make the bed). The room was nicely decorated and the only real drawback was the bathroom design which had a frosted glass door and didn't quite close all the way which could have lead to some embarrassing moments and years of therapy for my daughter if we didn't manage to block the gap in the door with a bathrobe!
The parking (self) was in an adjoining garage and you were given an access card which was fine except for the next section which is the neighborhood. Valet wasn't much better as a fellow guest had his car vandalized on Saturday night in valet.
The hotel is located in the commercial business district of downtown ABQ. The office building and surrounding services are fine. About a block away (walking toward the KiMo Theater) is a collection of bars and nightclubs that seem to attract some less that desirable types in the evening and especially on Friday and Saturday. In addition there is a pedestrian ave (I believe it was on 4th) that was chock full of homeless and where I witnessed a drug deal happening at 4PM on a Saturday. I know the old Rt 66 (Central Ave) is going through some revitalization but the city and the police need to do a better job of managing the safety of this area. I hope the Hotel forwards this to the city/police authorities as it is a shame because the hotel itself is a Gem.
Overall I would highly recommend this Hotel especially if it is for a stay during the week. It is close to the airport, minutes from OldTown and UNM/Nob Hill and access to the major highways. Just be mindful (as you should in any urban area) of your surroundings when venturing out in the evening. (see our review of the restaurant Lucia under the restaurant name)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Andaluz is one of those 'dream' hotels you think about on long flights in economy class. The outside is rather nondescript, but the inside is a world unto itself. The atrium is bathed in Spanish music. Small rooms off the main atrium have a separate atmosphere of their own, including some with waterfalls. The restaurant is superb. The staff is incredibly helpful. The rooms are well appointed. There is nothing else you need.

PS Want a real adventure ? Take the Amtrak Southwest Chief from Chicago (or Los Angeles) and stop in Albuquerque. The Andaluz is two blocks from the train station.

PPS Have dinner at Tucano's Brazilian restaurant (across from the train station). Call for reservations, though. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience while staying at the Hotel Andaluz. It is always nice to hear positive comments about the hotel and the staff. The Hotel Andaluz is an oasis in the desert. Please let me know if future plans bring you back to Albuquerque.

Thank you,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

For those who love historic hotels beautifully restored and with fabulous service and amenities, the Andaluz is the first choice in Albuquerque. The restaurant, Lucia, has a very sophisticated menu at reasonable prices. Everything about this hotel is positive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive very hard to create a level of service that exceeds expectations. Please let me know when plans bring you back to the Land of Enchantment.

Regards,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My daughter and I were visiting my niece who had moved to Albuqerque and she told us that this was THE PLACE to stay. She was so right! Every request was handled professionally and efficiently and the quality of our room was outstanding. My daughter was impressed that it was a designated "green" hotel and the room decor and furnishings reflected that
purpose. Overall, we would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Albuqerque!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We truly appreciate your kind words. We are very proud of our green program. We have been awarded with the LEED Gold Certification, only one of two historic hotels in the United States that can take claim to this honor. Please let me know if future plans bring you back to Albuquerque.

Regards,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We ended up at Andaluz quite by accident, The property is amazing! Every accent throughout the hotel from the very cool architectural features to every piece of art and furniture is just amazingly well picked to combine the old and the new the location. For example the reception lobby uses the old room mailboxes as an art piece to show off cool chess pieces. (There are 100 other examples on the first floor alone).

The rooms are not huge, but they make very good use of space and all the appointments from the beds to the towels are as plush as can be found at any boutique hotel. Quality in room HD TVs, Ipod Doc, etc. everything you would expect from a good hotel.

The bar is FANTASTIC, it has a great outdoor deck with a view and atmosphere perfect for an evening cocktail. I don't use the term mixologist lightly when I say have one of their mixologists make you a cocktail, everything is fresh and delicious (ask for suggestions there is much more than what their cocktail menu holds).

The staff isn't stalkishly kind... meaning you are not followed around as I have felt at some hotels, but everyone is very glad to help. We ran into the Nightlife Director in the elevator and he was super excited that he was playing Pulp Fiction in the bar that night... we felt invited rather than feeling like we were being sold something. (Made for a great start to the evening). Although we didn't eat much at the hotel due to time, the breakfast and bar menu were fabulous. I look forward to trying the restaurant. There are some great spots to eat outside the hotel, don't miss the Standard Diner.

I left a big fan of Hotel Andaluz... and an even bigger fan of Albuquerque. I won't have to try very hard to find a reason to return. I would absolutely recommend a stay for business or pleasure.. I rarely take the time to review a property, but am writing this within an hour of getting home... it was that good. Hope this helps!.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and great description of the Hotel Andaluz. We are so happy that you happened upon the hotel by accident. The owner spent years creating this gem and guest comfort was at the top of the list. We are very proud of our Albuquerque heritage, culture, staff and the architecture of the hotel. Our goal is to create an oasis in Albuquerque that guest can visit and feel like they are transported to a different place and time. Thank you again for your kind words. Please contact me directly if future plans bring you back to the Land of Enchantment.

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 Second Street North-West, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque’s iconic hotel and only one of two historic GOLD Leed certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city’s social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Splendia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.