We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID. They will throw you into a 2-star hotel if they feel like it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Albuquerque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Albuquerque to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Tijeras NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore Package
Ranked #52 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“AVOID. They will throw you into a 2-star hotel if they feel like it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked the Hyatt 3 months PRIOR to arriving. (and one of the top tier rooms as well)

ON THE DAY OF ARRIVAL, they informed us they are sending us to a low budget hotel a block away because they OVERBOOKED.

Bear in mind, this is my first and only scathing review. It takes a LOT to push me to this...

In this day and age, HOW DOES A HYATT OVERBOOK????

That will give you some serious intuit about the business they are running.

-Rude customer service
-A front desk manager who would not connect me to the General Manager
-A hundred excuses and no apology.

I WILL NEVER STAY HYATT AGAIN.

Room Tip: Be careful they don't toss you into another motel, CALL them regularly to make sure you have a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager / VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear BorisBalkan:

Thank you for writing and sharing feedback on opportunities for improving our guest experience.
We sincerely apologize that you felt we did not honor your reservation and gave away your reservation. Unfortunately, with our hotel being sold out the previous evening and having a limited number of rooms available, we attempted to contact all guests via email or phone regarding the situation prior to their arrivals. Guests were relocated to surrounding, comparable hotels at our expense. And, for not being able to communicate this to you in a timely manner, we fell short of meeting your expectations.

This is not the norm for our hotel and we hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    184
    81
    67
    32
See reviews for
51
105
43
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The associates at the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque were very accommodating. I was traveling to Albuquerque for my niece’s wedding and realized that the wedding was actually an hour earlier than I thought it was. The associates arranged for an early check in for both of the rooms that I had reserved so that we could leave the hotel by 3:00 pm to get to the venue in east of the Sandia Mountains.
Breana and Gilbert were very helpful and the bellmen made sure that I knew how to navigate through the downtown area safely. When I left the nightclub on Central with a friend I called back to the hotel to have them call a cab for him to take him to his hotel. By the time we walked up to the porte-cochère the cab was waiting for him.

On the day before I was departing, I asked the housekeeping houseman for a box so that I could pack my cooler with frozen green chile and he literally returned within a couple of minutes with a box that was a perfect fit; it was as if he knew I was going to need one.

The only thing that disappointed me was that the rich hues of turquoise and purple in the original carpet that are characteristic of central NM have been replaced with neutral tones and the dark woods on the elevator landings have been lightened since the last time I was there in 1998. Overall the hotel has been well maintained since it opened in the early 90’s.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have a view of the mountains and rooms on the south side have a view of the Rio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager / VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear John T:

Thank you for recognizing Breanna, Gilbert and the bellman's outstanding customer service. This is what the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque stands for. We strive to ensure that all our guests expectations are not only met but exceeded with Excellent Service.

We appreciate your positive remarks and ratings and hope you have the opportunity to return to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am a little late with this review as I was at the Hyatt at the end of June. We arrived via taxi from the airport and were greeted warmly. Check in was friendly and efficient with the clerk using our names and explaining everything to us.
The room was more than adequate and was in good working order. Housekeeping was efficient. The wireless internet was fast and I was always able to connect. No complaints with the hotel or staff.
My only concern is the location which is downtown and there is a plaza right next to the hotel where the homeless and troubled youth seem to hangout even with the no loitering signs. There is a police presence in the area and they keep them moving. You are two blocks from the Route 66 which is the main drag where many new clubs and restaurants have opened. The area does seem to be undergoing a resurgence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel, WK0119. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and that your found our associates were friendly and efficient and your overall stay was "Great." We are also delighted to read that your Internet was fast!

We pride ourselves in not only meeting but exceeding our guests expectations. We hope you will again choose our hotel to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Room thermostat didn't work properly, the door didn't fully latch by itself (I almost left it unlocked - just happened to check), the iron had stains on it, the bathmat wouldn't unroll, and the desk chair was a abomination our of an art studio - great to look at, but hopeless to sit on. Oh, and yet another place with glass on the desk... so a computer mouse doesn't work unless you put a piece of paper down. In other words, the place was adequate, but by no means up to Hyatt standards (or prices). And yet another place that nickels-and-dimes for stuff like Internet service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Guildenstern: Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for your experience at our hotel. We value you as our guest and certainly would never want to leave you with a poor impression.

Your comments have been reviewed with our management team and associates in order to make improvements for a more positive experience. We do hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you travel to Albuquerque. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very friendly staff. Always asking if they could be of assistance. Tub did drain slow and made gurgling sounds in the drain even when I hadn't used it. The bartenders were great at H Que. would stay here again. Taylr at the front desk was very nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mamawtj:

We value that you have chosen to review us and noting that HQue bartenders were great and Taylr at the Front Desk was very nice. We will make sure to recognize their efforts.

Our Engineering team has addressed your comments in order to make improvements for a more positive experience regarding the drain issue. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to exceed your expectations in all areas.

We strive to continually improve our guest experience and do hope you’ll consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to Albuquerque. Thank you once again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while I attended a conference in this hotel. The staff here was great! Upon arrival, our room was not ready since it was still early in the day (11:30 AM) and check in isn't until 3:00 PM, which is to be expected. We decided to have lunch at Forque, which is the hotel's main restaurant. We ate several meals at Forque during our stay. We were shocked at how good this restaurant is! Most hotel restaurants have horrible food with even worse service - not here. The meals were always great and the service fantastic! We will miss Teresa - she waited on us most of the time. She was so pleasant and attentive, even when handling a multitude of tables. During one of our lunches, the restaurant was packed due to our conference attendees. It was during this time that we noticed even the Managers helping to get everyone served. Very impressive!! This restaurant was a huge bonus for us since the downtown Albuquerque area is not safe to venture out into. Following lunch we moved into the bar area so that we could watch our team's football game on TV while we waited for the call that our room was ready. As promised by Gilbert at the front desk (love him!!), we received a call as soon as our room was ready. We had a panoramic view king room, which I highly recommend. We also booked the bed & breakfast package which I also recommend. The room was quiet, spacious and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever had - like sleeping on a cloud! The bathroom was large enough to actually move around in, which is more than I can say for most hotels these days. A normal sized hairdryer (not a travel size) is also provided. There was also plenty of counter space for toiletry items. The meeting rooms where our conference was held were very nice and the staff once again was very attentive and friendly. We definitely would recommend this Hyatt for anyone needing a great downtown hotel. Between the food, the staff and the room, we hated to leave but hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Panoramic room was great - view of the Sandia Mountain Range
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel and for mentioning Gilbert's Excellent customer service skills. We are more than happy to see that your stay was above what you expected and are excited that we have earned your loyalty. Looking forward to seeing you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The best part of this hotel is Kali. Very helpful, attentive, and professional. The room was large and comfortable. The work out room was small and tucked away but the machines worked and the amenities fine. Starbucks in the lobby pleased my wife.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear FoodfunFunFood:

Thank you for writing an Excellent review about our hotel and staff. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and recognizing Kali's attentiveness and professionalism. We’re glad you found our room was large and comfortable and Starbucks pleasing.

We strive to continually improve our guest experience and hope you’ll consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to Albuquerque. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Albuquerque

Address: 330 Tijeras NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Albuquerque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a landmark hotel. Hyatt Regency Albuquerque is an urban oasis in the Land of Enchantment known for its high level of personal service, upscale amenities and ideal downtown location. Just 10 minutes from the Albuquerque International Sunport, the hotel is directly across from the Albuquerque Convention Center and a short walk to historic Route 66 with its many noted shops, art galleries and colorful avenues.Take the time to explore some of Albuquerque’s best dining options. Enjoy regionally inspired cuisine at Forque Kitchen and Bar or locally produced wine, micro-brewed beer and hand-crafted specialty cocktails at HQue Lounge.Immerse yourself in our rich cultural heritage and 310 days of sunshine a year and you will quickly understand why Albuquerque is the must visit destination of the Southwest. At Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, our renowned service, amenities and downtown location make us the ideal choice for business travelers, vacationers and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.