We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungled accomodations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Albuquerque

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Albuquerque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Tijeras NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore Package
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Bungled accomodations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We're members of Hyatt Vacation club, and platinum members with well over 150,000 points in the bank. We use Hyatt for business, we use them for leisure, and we have well over $20,000 invested in our Hyatt timeshare.
First, the good stuff.
Vanessa at the front desk. She is a gem. She made us feel special, welcome, and went out of her way to take care of us.
The attractive African American woman who was managing Friday evening also worked very hard to take care of us, and I appreciate her efforts.
The concierge... I believe here name was Mary Lou. She was terrific. Very knowledgeable, listened to our wants, and found places and events we never would have found on our own.
So then... The not so good stuff.
We checked into the regency late morning knowing that our room would likely not be ready. Left our luggage and took off to play. We were traveling for our anniversary so I requested a suite with a view.
We returned at 8:30 and the bellman took us to our suite. Turns out, there was a wedding reception taking place in the next suite. Lots of people yapping in the halls, lots of noise, and a piano player. Not happening. We called the manager who came to our room and acknowledged the absurdity of this situation. She took immediate action and bumped us up to the presidential suite which was unoccupied... or so we all thought.
So we get to the suite, we open the door and some sort of animal comes running towards us...
We close the door. The manager asks our patience while she goes inside to see why there is an animal in the room. She goes, we wait. A few minutes later she comes out of the room with an exasperated look on her face... she apologizes and says "you don't want to know".
Looks like we're not spending the night there. We head to the lobby while she checks for something that can salvage this comedy of errors. We end up in a very large suite on the second floor. Very large space, but rather plain. At this point the evening is shot and we're pretty whipped. We left early the next day.
We have to ask ourselves... what kind of hotel checks people in next door to a party. What kind of hotel has unscheduled guests in their presidential suite? As mentioned above, the hotel does have some very good employees... but this was ridiculous. They did comp us the stay, as they should, however we are at this point questioning our loyalty to the Hyatt brand. We have recently had enough questionable experiences that have us thinking of switching our alliance to Westin or Sheraton. It would be a shame, but they bring this on themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear the swanguy: Thank you for staying with us and for mentioning our front desk staff (Vanessa)! Your feedback is very important and has been shared with the relevant departments, whose team members have taking steps to address and rectify the points you have brought up.

Our management team and associates sincerely apologize for the room issues you encountered during what should have been a special time for you. Your experience is not a rule in our hotel and we can assure you that it won't happen again.

In addition, the growling noise that was coming from the room was reviewed and we found this to be a squeaky door that has now been resolved.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to complete a review survey regarding your stay. Your feedback helps us to continuously improve and provide the high, Excellent standards you expect from Hyatt. We want to earn your loyalty. Please contact me whenever you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    159
    74
    60
    30
See reviews for
47
90
41
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The drive in is preparation for the experience that awaits you. The mountain views are spectacular and the trails invite you into the best of nature. Take advantage of them! The food is wonderful and reflects the cultural beauty of the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear mrsadiaz:

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you had an Excellent, memorable stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, v
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Albuquerque many times in the past. This time there is evidence that the hotel may be in decline. We didn't receive the number of towels ordered. When the toilet backed up it took 5 calls and over two hours to get a response. I intend to travel there again and hope the hotel returns to its old high standards.

Room Tip: Get high on the north side You can see balloons ascend in the morning. Especially important durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Seymour S:

We are happy to see that you will be returning to our hotel despite the housekeeping/engineering issues. We have taken on board the comments you have provided us with, whether positive or negative for further improvement of our services and facilities.

We sincerely appreciate you staying with us and giving us another try. I certainly hope that we will exceed your expectations during your next visit and show you our high Hyatt standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was very unsatisfied with this hotel, and the room they offered. The bed was uncomfortable and its bottom sheet kept popping off the mattress which I find to be unsanitary. I found a spot of blood on the pillow. They charge you for parking and internet. Not reasonable prices either. The option for internet is either 15 min or 24+ hours. Which of course the majority of the time you won't be there for even 12 hours, not including the 8 hours of your sleep. Once the morning came we had house cleaning knocking at 8am. For the price they charge there should be at least free parking. Will never do Hyatt again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear RaymondB26:

I certainly understand how valuable your time is and I greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to provide your feedback.

I am so sorry to hear about about the housekeeping issues you experienced. I assure
you that the hotel's management team has addressed these concerns and ensure that future guests do not experience the challenges that you have described.

We certainly want to see you again and invite you back to see our changes. I know you will love them! Please let me know when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Professional, friendly service. Very nice rooms. Great for a "couple get-away" and right in the center of Downtown Albuquerque. I stayed for a weekend and had a wonderful stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. There are shuttles that will take you to the area casinos if you like. Ask the front desk, they will help you out with that. If you like the nightclub scene, there are places within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Teetermarie: Thank you so much for the excellent review. I hope we are always able to exceed your expectations and be your choice hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just over half way through a two week business trip to Albuquerque and I cannot say enough about the people who work at the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque. The level of professionalism is amazing. Everyday when headed to work and then when I return from a hard day. I am greeted by some of the most professional and yet sincere people I have met. They truly love their jobs. From the valet/bell/door staff always with a "welcome", to Gilbert who I am assuming is the Front Desk Manager excellent customer service, Demetris who is a lovely young lady who went out of her way to make not only my stay but others I whitnessed enjoyable , the housekeepers who cleaned my room effeciently and always with a smile and to the wait staff in the restaurant and lounge some excellent food and service. They all take their jobs seriously. I even met the General Manager on his first day of work at the hotel. In talking to the General Manager, Mark???? I understand that the hotel had just been sold to new owners. Now I do not know what the hotel was like before but the people who are working there now hit it out of the park for me. They truly made my stay away from my family as enjoyable as it could be. I will return if I am every back in the area.

Room Tip: It is a Hyatt every room is an excellent room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Patricia M: Thank you so much for the excellent review of our hotel, staff and Forque Kitchen & Bar. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Friendly and quick check in and check out. Short stay for one night on trip with my parents. Hotel was very comfortable, slept like a baby. Everything felt new and updated, valet was quick with the car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much, forkrisf, for the excellent review. I hope we are always able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Albuquerque

Address: 330 Tijeras NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Albuquerque 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a landmark hotel. Hyatt Regency Albuquerque is an urban oasis in the Land of Enchantment known for its high level of personal service, upscale amenities and ideal downtown location. Just 10 minutes from the Albuquerque International Sunport, the hotel is directly across from the Albuquerque Convention Center and a short walk to historic Route 66 with its many noted shops, art galleries and colorful avenues.Take the time to explore some of Albuquerque’s best dining options. Enjoy regionally inspired cuisine at Forque Kitchen and Bar or locally produced wine, micro-brewed beer and hand-crafted specialty cocktails at HQue Lounge.Immerse yourself in our rich cultural heritage and 310 days of sunshine a year and you will quickly understand why Albuquerque is the must visit destination of the Southwest. At Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, our renowned service, amenities and downtown location make us the ideal choice for business travelers, vacationers and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.