We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hyatt - Great Service Recovery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Albuquerque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Albuquerque to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Tijeras NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore Package
Ranked #54 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Solid Hyatt - Great Service Recovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Friday night. Location is very central in downtown ABQ. Downtown does seem to shut down fairly early. This was not really an issue for me as I was just spending the night and flying out the next morning.

This is a solid Hyatt Regency. I self parked, entrance behind the hotel. The charge is $13 a day with in/out. It looked like there might be on street parking, but I did not look into it. Valet is also available. The garage elevator is convenient and parking was fairly painless.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. I recieved a room on the 17th floor. Room was modern, clean, and pretty much what I would expect at a Hyatt. Room was quiet and comfortable.

The only issue that I had at the hotel was with the lack of service in the lobby bar. The server/bar staff do not seem to be very serivice minded. They ignored my presence and despite not being busy and attending to tables right beside me.

I mentioned this to Chantelle at the front desk who apologized and made suire that I got better service in Forques, the hotel's restaurant/ounge. She went above and beyond by making a personal visit to the lounge to ensure that the servers took exceptional care of me.

Food and service in Forques was good. They have a pretty varied menu with lots of small plate options.

Breakfas is in Forques. The buffet is average and I would probably order from the menu next time as it appeared to have more interesting regional dishes. The eggs were especially good here. You can order an omelet with the buffet.

All in all a nice stay.. I would avoid the lobby bar, but otherwise, I would return on my next trip.

Room Tip: I always ask for a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear crazyhotelguy: What a clever name! Thank you for your very candid review. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided and for recognizing Chantelle, who helped to provide you with better service while you were a guest in our hotel. I apologize about your experience in our HQue Lobby Bar and management will work to correct the concerns you mentioned to ensure that all guests receive the best possible service in all dining outlets.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    184
    81
    67
    33
See reviews for
51
105
43
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hyatt for a conference. Our room overlooked the mountains, so that was terrific. The comfortable bed and hotel amenities made us feel quite at home. Starbucks right in the lobby, and close to Convention Center and plaza. Staff was wonderful all the way through. Quick drive to Old Town for shopping and dining.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you, OhioTina, for your very positive review of our hotel. We appreciate you recognizing our staff's friendliness and definitely hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow!!! What an awsome gem to find and in all places Albuquerque. First off the staff is some of the best in the world. The concierge, Mary Lou is the BEST. From the moment we pulled in to the valet, we were greeated by name and always with a huge genuine smile. The consierge helped us find not just one but about 15 sugestions for specialty store we were looking for, all of which we went to were spot on! She even checked in on us throughout our stay and was even available for any questions we had even when she was not working... pretty amazing these days!!! The bar was great, both service and food. Steak frites were awsome and I had them twice. Overall the location of the hotel is a bit confusing when going out to dine, but just ask any of the staff and u will have no proble finding exactly what u want.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
John BBS3: Thank you for that great opening title! We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel, from beginning to the very end of your stay and that our staff exceeded your service expectations.

Please let us know when you are back! You'll get that same extraordinary service as do all of our guests. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was a typical Hyatt experience. The Internet and parking were very expensive compared to other hotels in ABQ. I would be more likely to stay at one of those hotels in the future. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Chasicakes:

It was great of you to point out the positives you experienced with our staff. Please accept my apologies regarding the internet and parking charges. The parking garage is owned by the City of Albuquerque and we rent spaces. Although there is a charge for guest room internet, we do offer complimentary Wifi in our lobby and lobby atrium as an alternative. I am happy to advise that we continually benchmark with other hotels in the city to ensure that our hotel always remains competitive.

I certainly would love to have you come back if you are ever in the area. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I continue my ever lasting search for a great hotel in ABQ.
The location of the hotel is downtown which I prefer, the area is safe as their is a police station across the street. The restaurants in the area are local and within walking distance, no chain restaurants around which is nice. Parking is under the hotel and was included in my package but there is a fee otherwise.
The lobby is magnificent. Huge, open and very active with people on their laptops and tablets. There is a real Starbucks! There is a bar that was dead but the attached restaurant 'Forque' has a very active bar. The restaurant is where they serve breakfast which was included in my package as well. The food is a bit better than typical hotel food but they are very proud of it and charge accordingly.
Upon check in I was informed that my booking of a king bed was merely a request and not a guarantee which always annoys me terribly so they put me in a double room. With two DOUBLE beds. Not queens. Doubles. I am 6'1" 235lbs. A double is like sleeping on an army cot. To make matters worse the bed was simply terrible. hard as a rock. The linens were like sandpaper and when you tried to get in the bed they exploded so it looks like you had a battle with the Orcs by morning. I slept terribly for three nights. It really made my trip miserable.
The room itself was somewhat spartan, very clean but very boring. There was a flat panel TV, yet no fridge, microwave or even coffee machine. There was a $1.50 bottle of water they want you to pay $5 for and thats about it. The shower was typically weak and the towels did not meet the standards of the brand. They were typical of much lesser hotel brands.
I liked the hotel, service was good and I love the location and lobby and restaurant. Yet I cannot recommend to stay here because of the beds and linens and lack of appointments of the rooms. If you can't sleep or sleep poorly the rest of the hotel is moot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, VIP AMBASSADOR at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
PHXTrainer:

It was great of you to point out the positives you experienced with our great location and restaurant outlets. Please accept my apologies for the room/bedding issue that you experienced during your stay. I certainly would love to have the opportunity to make this up to you so please feel free to contact me. Thank you so much for your candid feedback.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Prado, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The customer service in this hotel is the best we have ever experienced and that's saying a lot because I choose places to stay, eat, ect. based on how good the customer service is. The suite we had was lovely, large and roomy. It was clean, well stocked and the decor was lovely. We had a special situation due to my husband going in for open heart surgery in a hospital in the same general area as the Hyatt. The staff went out of their way to meet our requirements. When I say, "out of their way" that includes greeting us with flowers, cookies, fruit and welcoming and efficient staff. It was the best hotel experience in my life, and I am not young :-). The VIP ambassador, Demetris, is outstanding. So is Lori, one of the managers, and Dorothy who I believe is the head of housekeeping. The valet parking was run smoothly and the staff was cheerful and eager to help. Kudos for this special place in a world of people who often seem to "care less"

Room Tip: I loved our corner suite over the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear MsCathie123: We are very pleased to see that our friendly and caring staff helped to make your stay a memorable one during your husband's open heart surgery. Thank you for choosing us and we love to see you and your family again very soon for a celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Forest, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a lot of the same problems as Matt 33332, like the charges added and then making sure they were removed (internet, starbucks, parking...), and the sheets, and the fact that not only is there not much to do around the hotel, but they warn you IN CAPITAL LETTERS not to go out walking - even in groups. Not a good recommendation. Let me also add:

We passed it the first time by because it doesn't even look like a hotel entrance. Then on the second time by, the valet was chatting with a friend parked right in the middle of the short pull-through registration lane - and we'd have to block traffic while we waited for them. It's on a one-way street - so each time around is a couple of blocks... On the 3rd time around we just decided to cram in there and annoy the guy and his friend.

It's hard to tell where the front desk is. I waited... and waited... at a couple of different locations, and finally went back out to ask the guys where it was. I was waiting at the right place, but it was 15 min. before someone showed up to check me in.

Then there's the room. Big enough. Standard corporate furnishings. But what's that I hear? A low beep... beep.... beep.... I told them I couldn't take it. They alleged that it is something in their fire alarm or suppression system, and that I couldn't get away from it. It's possible that they told me that just to get me to stay in the bad room, but if the whole hotel is that way, then there's no way I am going to recommend it to anyone. Just say to yourself, as you read all these reviews, beep..... beep.....

The only good point was that the concierge recommended the Gold Street Caffe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the constant beeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEMETRIS A, VIP Ambassador at Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear GlyphGirl_CO,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property and for staying with us. Like any big city hotel, certain precautions need to be taken when visiting a new city.

In regards to the check-in area, we will ensure our staff are showing our guests where the registration area is located. As you may have noticed, once you enter the hotel through the main entrance to the right you see our restaurant, and, to the left, you will find our registration desk located around the corner.

We strive to continually improve the service we provide. Please contact me directly when returning to the Duke City so that I can help to make your stay more memorable. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Albuquerque

Address: 330 Tijeras NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Albuquerque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a landmark hotel. Hyatt Regency Albuquerque is an urban oasis in the Land of Enchantment known for its high level of personal service, upscale amenities and ideal downtown location. Just 10 minutes from the Albuquerque International Sunport, the hotel is directly across from the Albuquerque Convention Center and a short walk to historic Route 66 with its many noted shops, art galleries and colorful avenues.Take the time to explore some of Albuquerque’s best dining options. Enjoy regionally inspired cuisine at Forque Kitchen and Bar or locally produced wine, micro-brewed beer and hand-crafted specialty cocktails at HQue Lounge.Immerse yourself in our rich cultural heritage and 310 days of sunshine a year and you will quickly understand why Albuquerque is the must visit destination of the Southwest. At Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, our renowned service, amenities and downtown location make us the ideal choice for business travelers, vacationers and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.