We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is pretty awesome for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is pretty awesome for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

So I gave this place an excelent not because it's some 5 star hotel, but for what you get for the price, it's definitely excellent. First of all let me say that Motel 6 is cheap, but it's a terrible brand. And other brands like Holiday Inn just offer up an attractive rate and then get you on pet fees, wifi fees and maybe in the downtown areas on ridiculous parking prices.
I've stayed in two different Best Westerns in the past 2 days in New Mexico and they were both fantastic as they didn't charge a pet fee for my dog, parking was free, wifi was free on an open network. They have laundry facilities and this Best Western even has room service and they give you a voucher to choose if you want breakfast or to use it towards another restaurant item which is awesome because I never wake up for breakfast or make it in time. Some hotels even had a breakfast from just 6a-9a which I think is so funny - but this place does from 6a-11a.
The rooms didn't have that smoke smell that you get in many places even in the non smoking rooms.
Best of all? The staff here are so friendly and helpful. One even brought plastic silverware up to me when I forgot to get some at the local market.
They're all just super friendly and very well trained. I would even venture to say that I feel like I would rather stay here than a super nice designer hotel because I feel like I'm getting true value for my money and much more even.
It's even in a pretty great location next to the town and there is a good walk and closeby variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing away from the nearby highway - other than that you're good. and it's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the thorough review. I am glad you chose us because of our location and that our service and amenities ultimately made your decision a smart one. We have great breakfast hours to make sure we accommodate everyone. I will make sure I let everyone know about there great service. Hope to see you again sometime.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    253
    108
    48
    20
See reviews for
182
229
67
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was our second stay here. The first was in 2011 when we wanted to visit Old Town Albuquerque, the Natural History Museum, Aquarium, Botanical Gardens, and the zoo. This time we were passing through town on our way from the Grand Canyon and decided to stay here again. We got into town a bit earlier than the official check in time, but there was no problem in checking in earlier. Our room was quiet and comfortable with good beds, bathroom, and other amenities I've come to expect in this type of hotel. There is an onsite restaurant and we received breakfast vouchers which we used for a filling and well-made breakfast. The only problem I have with this hotel is that it is rather sprawling and can be a bit confusing. However, I would not hesitate to stay here again the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate you coming back and glad you enjoyed yourself again. I couldn't say it any better than you did and I hope to see you soon.



If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Very good service. Decent size room and excellent service . Would surely recommend if you are planning to stay in Albuquerque.
Breakfast optio s are good. The service staff struggle at peak times and its obvious. Apart from that observation it was all good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you recommending us to others. We strive to have excellent service. So thank you again. Happy travels.


If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is an unsophisticated hotel but very clean and comfortable. Indeed I had the best night's sleep of my holiday here. It has free WiFi and a coffee-maker which are always welcome and not always present in even some of the larger city hotels. There is a bit of a walk into the old town but can be done relatively easily

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay. We do also provide a courtesy shuttle that can take you to old town and pick you back up that run from 7am-10pm. Continue to have happy travels and we hope the next time your in the area you will stop again.


If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was nicely decorated and the staff was super. Our waiter remembered our ordered on our second day. We got vouchers to get a hot breakfast. The pool is outdoors and was very nice. The bed was great and the room clean.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third and fourth floors have better views and tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that our location was convenient, staff helpful and amenities appealing. Thanks, again.




If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Was traveling through the Albuqirque NM and stayed at Best Western. Clean room. Door cards didn't work well and had to have them changed out, otherwise was a very nice over night stay. Breakfast was great. Internet was strong and useful. Direct TV was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. I apologize for the door situation. I know the staff will love to know that their efforts were appreciated. Happy Travels.


If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were very pleased with this BW. Our room was clean and spacious and we had a little character made out of washcloths on our bed that my kids thought was neat. The front desk staff was gracious and the restaurant was nice for breakfast. The food was good and just enough for my family of four. The great part was that it was in walking distance of Old Town.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that our location, staff and bar/restaurant exceeded your expectations. The duck is a great little decoration that our housekeeping does. I'm happy that the four of you enjoyed your stay. You know where to stop if you ever come through Albuquerque again.


If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#16 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.