We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, efficient, clean, good restaurant, great location......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #23 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Croton-on-Hudson, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, efficient, clean, good restaurant, great location......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was in Albuquerque for a conference and chose to stay at this hotel instead of the conference hotel downtown due to it's proximity to Old Town, major roads and attractions. I am so happy that I made that decision. My four day stay turned into six days as a result of superstorm Sandy (I am from New York). I got to know the hotel staff and the neighborhood as a result of my extended stay and availed myself of some of the handy features such as a laundrymat on my floor and the excellent business center. The food in the hotel restaurant is homemade and is very reasonable priced. There is a different delicious soup everyday. It is a short walk to Old Town and there is a Starbucks across the street. The only thing that I found inconvenient was a lack of stair access between the lobby and the floors. There were only firestairs that led directly outside. A small thnig that would not bother most people.... The pool and spa looked clean and inviting though I never had time to try them. I am returning to Albuquerque with my husband in June for a wedding and we will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    199
    93
    42
    17
See reviews for
144
183
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and kind, the room were very clean and in good order. In fact everything was very clean and in great order. I can highly recommend this Inn for a great stay while in NM.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we come from Aberdeen Scotland we stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago and it was a grand place to stay then and it still is today the staff are very friendly and helpfull, the hotel is not far from the old town 5 to 10 minutes were there are plenty to see also plenty of restaurtantsbut the food in the hotel was pretty good aswell the room service was excellent the room was very clean and plenty space there is also a lovely swinning pool outside good place to stay we will go back and stay there

Room Tip: its a nice hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The rooms in the Rio Grande open to indoor hallways, giving a more upscale, hotel feel to the property. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The king bed was magnificent and rivals the dreamy beds found in more expensive hotels. We found high quality soaps and shampoos which is always a nice surprise. The swimming pool is outdoors and too cold for swimming in October.
Others have mentioned the lack of a breakfast, which is a hallmark of BW lodging, especially a Plus. Though this property adheres to the Best Western guidelines to qualify for Plus status, most customers don't understand that the unremarkable on-site cafe satisfies the "availability of a meal" requirement set by BW Corporate. It is damaging to the Best Western brand to substitute a mediocre cafe where the food is an additional fee, versus the usual complimentary breakfast customers have come to expect. If a free breakfast is important, then I would check out the other 2 BW properties in Albuquerque. If not, then the Rio Grande is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a wonderful room at this hotel. Very clean and accommodating. They had a shuttle to a local casino which was great. Located about15 minutes from the Festival Grounds but we had no trouble getting around the city

Room Tip: Can't say anything about the restaurant since we didn't eat there. Most hotels now a days g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here two nights on a Route 66 bus trip.

The hotel is very nice, even though it is near the freeway there is no traffic noise.

The rooms are well decorated in Mexican style, with lovely touches like a branding on the headboards. The room wasn't massive, but it was large enough. The only let down was the coffee in the room, it was awful.

There was free wifi in the rooms and a couple of computer terminals in the lobby. There is a free shuttle service to the old town, but it really is less than a 10 min walk, as well as taking you to the airport and train station.

The staff we encountered were OK but not super friendly.

Dinner in the restaurant was good

As an alternative try St Clair Bistro which is just over the road, the food was very good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with a Contiki group as a one night stop over. The hotel was pleasant and the room was large. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and tidy. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was nice and plentiful. Maybe it was because we were part of a tour group but the bar staff were a little surly and the wait staff just tossed the food down and ran. We would stay here again if passing through town. Overall a comfortable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#16 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.