We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Food and Football” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Fools Tavern

Two Fools Tavern
3211 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-1441 (Nob Hill)
505-265-7447
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,535 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Food and Football”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Normally packed, we (Family of 8+) got in for ruebens, plowman's lunch, scotch eggs, cottage pie and about half their menu. The staff was quick and attentive and the food was phenomenal! A++

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    66
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Marvelous Irish pub, outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Two Fools has everything you'd want in an Irish pub, especially this far from Ireland. Dark wood interior, leather seats, a brilliant bar, friendly servers, Irish music, and some of the best food you can imagine.

I nearly made myself sick eating the "All Day Breakfast." It's an Irish tradition, but I don't remember there being so much of it. Starts with a couple of fried eggs. Add rashers (Irish shoulder bacon), fried tomatoes, mushrooms, bangers (Irish sausages), soda bread with real Irish butter. And of course, I had to get the beans to put on the toast. Just brilliant.

There was excellent beer on tap, including the standards, but also lots of good craft beer. I had a Nitro Stout from Boulder Brewing (going all the way to Albuquerque for a local Colorado beer!), and an Irish red ale that was quite good. My daughter had the cider, which we believe was Magner's, and quite good.

Finished off with Bailey's cheesecake and a brilliant ice cream doused in Auchentoshan Triple Wood Scotch whisky. Ice cream and whisky go together better than you'd think.

A very enjoyable afternoon, and obviously a lot of locals agree. It was fairly crowded in the middle of a Sunday afternoon. Gets even more so in the evenings, but it's worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“No thanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Evidently the only thing to get there to eat were the fish and chips. We got two different kinds of pot pies and they were awful. Bar atmosphere was nice, lots of college kids and lots of single men there to watch college kids:) I won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum - BEST Fish & Chips EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm not generally hip on fried foods, but for the Fish & Chips I make exception. Sometimes I get the 'Liffy Fish' because they take the fish and chop it into smaller pieces ( not a whole fillet ) and fry it. The breading is delightfully light and crispy. The dipping sauces are WONDERFUL. It's not too terribly greasy. It's a little expensive, but well worth the treat. YUM!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Popular for a reason..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Close to the university this is one of several restaurants in the area but the only one I could see with people queuing out the door waiting for a table on the Friday night I visited.
It is quite small hence the queue but there was a long bar and I found a seat there. Despite being busy service was fast and friendly, there was a good range of beers on hand but nothing out of the ordinary, A reasonable choice of food and I had the bangers and mash which passed the test of being tasty and using a good quality British/Irish banger.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fools Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Two Fools Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Fools Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.