We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice full service hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Casino & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandia Casino & Resort to your Saves list
Sandia Casino & Resort
30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2-Night Special Package
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice full service hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel offers nice amenities, the Spa is by far the the high point of the hotel. The golf is an extra perk for the resort. You'll find the staff very accommodating and friendly. On a down side, the casino attracts some sketchy clients, tier three type gambling. The hotel seems to be overdue for expansion as the staff was not able to accommodate a king size room even though we booked six months in advance. Overall, you'll love the spa, golf and find the staff very friendly. I wouldn't recommend the casino for serous gaming...

Room Tip: Stay high and face the golfcourse. The lower floors have poor views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    82
    23
    15
    22
See reviews for
43
121
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were going to be attending a concert at the Sandia amphitheater and needed a place to stay for just one night. We needed a place to stay that was close to the concert venue so that we wouldn't have far to go after the concert was over. However, I wasn't excited about staying at a casino hotel because they tend to be smoky, loud (people coming and going down the hallways at all hours), and cheesy. But it turns out that I was wrong. First, the staff who greeted us and took care of our check-in was very friendly and helpful with our requests (we had mountain bikes to store in security), which they took care of with no problem at all. The hotel ventilation must also have been pretty good because the place didn't reek--only a few faint traces of smoke despite everyone smoking like chimneys. The rooms were not super fancy, but they were nice, and the views out the windows were superb. We were short on time, so we didn't have a chance to really explore the property, but we did make it to the pool area, which was really nice too--good service and great views. In fact, the whole place was very well maintained and scenery abounded. Overall, the property was beautiful, with Sandia Peak right behind us and desert scape in the foreground. We didn't get a chance to tour the golf course, but it looked very nice as well, and I've heard it's one of the best in the country. If you're in Albuquerque, this is definitely a place to check out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view (of Sandia Peak).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Though smaller, I believe this facility compares well with such casino icons as Caesar's Palace in Las Vegas and WinStar World in Oklahoma. In fact, just as a hotel (sans casino) I would consider it a great place to stay. It is a beautiful, well-designed, well-run facility that I would not hesitate to recommend to our friends traveling in New Mexico and where I would feel comfortable taking family members (including our grandchildren).

It is less than an hour's drive from the hotel to many places of interest such as Santa Fe, Madrid on the Turquoise Trail, Acoma and many other pueblo's, and even easy day trips to Taos or to Los Alamos via Jemez. Bien Shur has high-end food and service, and Bien Mur just across the street has a well-vetted selection of Native American jewelry, blankets, and paintings.

You can learn quite a bit about this facility (including hotel, casino, restaurants, and services) through their online website. What you can't find out there and what distinguishes this operation are it's people.

Maybe I'm more sensitive to staff attitudes than most, but having spent so much time in Washington D.C. and various hotels where the personnel can make you feel like they really wished they had a different job or that they were somewhere else, the first thing I noticed was that every single one of the staff seemed really happy to be there. We were almost always greeted with warm smiles, helpful attitudes, and fast service. They actually made you feel like not only were they glad to see you, but that they also wanted you to share in their pride of operation and place. That it wasn't just about the money!

Let me give a specific example. We used valet parking (which is free), but did not use any bellmen/women for the luggage. Yet every single time we went in or out we were treated to warm smiles and kind words. We frequently went to the bell-desk for answers about this or that (such as driving directions to somewhere or questions about the facilities) and we were never made to feel like we were an imposition or that a tip was expected. It was more like they were happy to be there and just wanted us to be happy too. One morning I read the staff guidelines posted in the housekeeping supplies area ... I won't bore you with the list, just that it confirmed my suspicion that they run a "tight ship".

I guess since this is a casino hotel, I should say something about the casino itself. The equipment was in good condition. Payout odds were posted on many of the slot machines. There was keno, a poker room, blackjack and other card game tables, non-electronic roulette wheels, and crap tables with real dice and dealers. The casino was also very well run and I felt completely safe.

Whether it is as an alternative to staying in Santa Fe for Indian Market, or just a stop-over in Albuquerque while you are investigating Route 66, I strongly recommend that you sample the hospitality and amenities of this fine casino hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the east side have a pretty good view of the Sandia mountains as well as the golf co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and hotel. Very quite and no smell of smoke in the non smoking hotel room.
Only down side was the food. It's horrible. No taste, minimal choices and cold when arrived in room. Tried dinner and bfast. Fruit at bfast was old and soggie. Came for a concert which was very convenient. Only wish room service was better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have stayed at this resort often. Play at their casino. We think this casino has the best perks for customers in New Mexico and 100 times better then any in Oklahoma. Clean, good customer service. And absolutely love the breakfast buffet on Sunday mornings. View of the Sandia's is breathaking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I attended a meeting at the Sandia Casino and Resort. The meeting space is enormous, but our room was the perfect size for our event. The food was wonderful and the staff exceptional. They were all very attentive without be intrusive. I stayed overnight the resort and my room was large and well appointed. The view of the golf course was spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel, the rooms, the casino and especially the grounds of this resort are absolutely beautiful! We stayed there a couple of nights for a family member's wedding in early August.
We booked our room 6 months in advance, asking for a non-smoking room with two beds knowing that there would be at least 3 adults staying in our room. Upon checking in we went to our which had an incredible view of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. However, our room with the spectacular view also only had one bed. When we went back to the front desk, we were informed that were no 2-bed, non-smoking rooms and even though we booked 6 months ago we weren't guaranteed to get what we requested. The desk employee was quite rude about it. She eventually told us that we could have a smoking room with 2 beds or we could have a roll-away brought into our room "for no extra charge"! We took the smoking room and a total downgrade on the view. Our room was on the other side of the building so we no longer could see the mountains. We did have a nice skyline view during the night, but during the day it was the roof of the casino...
We didn't play the golf course so I can't comment on green's fees or the playability of the course. However, from what we could see from the resort and the road it looked to be in immaculate condition. We also did not use any of the spa services but from what we were told by others in our group the spa was awesome as well.
The casino bars close at 1 am and no alcohol is allowed on the casino floor (which I found a bit odd), so if you're a drinker and a gambler you might want to take that into consideration. They do have a nice, non-smoking portion of casino if you prefer smoke free.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying at this resort, I recommend requesting a mountain view room (not that you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandia Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Casino & Resort

Address: 30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#43 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Sandia Resort and Casino offers a refined and sophisticated atmosphere inspired by New Mexico's pueblo culture. A striking cobblestone porte-cochere entry greets arriving hotel guests, who are welcomed into the grand lobby highlighted by the mountain view and unique architecture featuring native pottery and art. Whether you are here to game, dine, golf or relax at the Green Reed spa, you will discover something new around each corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Sandia Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Casino & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.