We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in the Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Casino & Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandia Casino & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandia Casino & Resort
30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2-Night Special Package
Ranked #23 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
La Verne, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wedding in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visited the resort for a wedding over the 4th of July weekend, though I didn't stay any nights here, the property is beautiful and the rooms looked very nice too. The casino had a good vibe going and the ballroom where our reception was held was great, as was the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    73
    21
    15
    20
See reviews for
40
112
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend anniversary trip with my husband. Staff was very friendly upon check in. The bedroom part of the room was clean - but our view out the window was an adobe all about 10 feet from the window itself. The shower in the bathroom looked like it had black mold growing on the floor and in between some tiles on the wall.

Ate at the buffet our first night. Doubtful we'll eat there again. First - not much selection for a Friday night. Second - the prime rib looked like it was about 2 months old. Was scared to even try it. Service at buffet was not overly the greatest. We waited in line and the hostess seated several other parties in line behind us before seating us.

Spa was wonderful tho. Very clean, very helpful staff. One of the best massages I have ever had. Playing golf at Sandia tomorrow.... Hoping its a great course!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

All the staff at Sandia from valet, shuttle, front desk, bell, housekeepers, restaurant and lounge were all excellent. Definitely shows they have pride in where they work. Rooms were extremely comfortable, well appointed and meticulously clean. The beds were to die for, comfortable, best sleep in two weeks. We had dinner one night in the main restaurant, and an event in the lounge one night, and the service was excellent. Second time we've held one there, and we'll be back. Keep up the good work, the happy staff shows that the management takes care of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first stay at this casino/resort. I signed up for the Players' Club and received a discount for a one night stay. I had read some of the older reviews from people who complained about the room, the view, the condition of the room, etc. I have no idea where those people stayed, but it could not have possibly been at this wonderful resort. Our room was absolutely beautiful! It was on the third floor and it overlooked (yes a roof, but also) the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. Being that we don't care to spend our time staring out a window all day and night, it could have been a brick wall for that matter! The room was clean, beautiful, huge and perfect. The front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The valet staff was very professional and courteous. I can't say enough great things about this place. Phenominal! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone. Thank you, Sandia, for making our anniversary spectacular! We will definitely stay here again for special occasions away from home. (Note: Sandia Casino and Resort personnel were not aware that we were celebrating our anniversary and our stay was still fabulous!).

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

this was our 2nd stay at Sandia at it was very nice just like the 1st time we stayed there..the kids loved the pool ! the room and bathroom was very spacious... clean and well kept. I used my players card for great rates

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Words are not enough to describe the excellence in service, cleanliness, and friendiliness that we experienced at Sandia Resort and Casino.

In fact, when I checked out, I jokingly asked the person helping me if manangement had threatened them with their lives if everything wasn't perfect for their guests.

Checking in was quick and we were met with smiles. They actually got us into our room early.
The Council Room Restaraunt had the best waitresses that we ever had. I didn't care that much for the food but I am extremely picky.
There is a little grill right off of the casino that ran $2 cheeseburger and $2 nacho specials. My husband and I had the cheeseburgers and they were really good for the price. My daughter had the nachos and she said they were good. When you'd rather spend your money gambling than eating, this was a real plus.
The gambling was good and they have a "no smoking section", as well. We didn't play bingo but it looked to always be full.
They have a wonderful spa with all kinds of services offered.
If you like a reasonable room and amenities with employees that take pride in their jobs, this is your place.

Room Tip: If you request a mountain view room you will, most likely, overlook the swimming pool and you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We did not stay in the resort so we cannot speak to the hotel. Casino was clean and seemed bigger than it was. Attractive looking spot with a view of nearby mountains. Free parking was ample. Smoking areas appeared well ventilated but for those wanting no smoking there is a room set aside for smoke free players. Saw lots of slots with a range of pricing. We were very pleased to find penny poker machines as well as nickel, quarter, etc. Since we play for fun it was nice to have that option. Also saw a number of penny slots as well as the higher dollar games so it seems there was a decent selection. Table games were $5 and up. There were not a lot of tables but enough to keep up with the interest on the night we visited. No alcoholic beverages are served on the casino floor so only soft drinks and water are complimentary. Drinks can be bought at the bar. Small area was set up for dancing. We did not try the food at any of the venues onsite. Rewards card provided 25 dollars of 'free' play and a coupon for a discounted hotel stay but only for new members.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandia Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Casino & Resort

Address: 30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#24 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#27 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Sandia Resort and Casino offers a refined and sophisticated atmosphere inspired by New Mexico's pueblo culture. A striking cobblestone porte-cochere entry greets arriving hotel guests, who are welcomed into the grand lobby highlighted by the mountain view and unique architecture featuring native pottery and art. Whether you are here to game, dine, golf or relax at the Green Reed spa, you will discover something new around each corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Sandia Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Casino & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.