We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Room, Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Casino & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandia Casino & Resort to your Saves list
Sandia Casino & Resort
30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2-Night Special Package
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Room, Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

All the staff at Sandia from valet, shuttle, front desk, bell, housekeepers, restaurant and lounge were all excellent. Definitely shows they have pride in where they work. Rooms were extremely comfortable, well appointed and meticulously clean. The beds were to die for, comfortable, best sleep in two weeks. We had dinner one night in the main restaurant, and an event in the lounge one night, and the service was excellent. Second time we've held one there, and we'll be back. Keep up the good work, the happy staff shows that the management takes care of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    82
    23
    15
    22
See reviews for
43
121
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first stay at this casino/resort. I signed up for the Players' Club and received a discount for a one night stay. I had read some of the older reviews from people who complained about the room, the view, the condition of the room, etc. I have no idea where those people stayed, but it could not have possibly been at this wonderful resort. Our room was absolutely beautiful! It was on the third floor and it overlooked (yes a roof, but also) the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. Being that we don't care to spend our time staring out a window all day and night, it could have been a brick wall for that matter! The room was clean, beautiful, huge and perfect. The front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The valet staff was very professional and courteous. I can't say enough great things about this place. Phenominal! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone. Thank you, Sandia, for making our anniversary spectacular! We will definitely stay here again for special occasions away from home. (Note: Sandia Casino and Resort personnel were not aware that we were celebrating our anniversary and our stay was still fabulous!).

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

this was our 2nd stay at Sandia at it was very nice just like the 1st time we stayed there..the kids loved the pool ! the room and bathroom was very spacious... clean and well kept. I used my players card for great rates

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Words are not enough to describe the excellence in service, cleanliness, and friendiliness that we experienced at Sandia Resort and Casino.

In fact, when I checked out, I jokingly asked the person helping me if manangement had threatened them with their lives if everything wasn't perfect for their guests.

Checking in was quick and we were met with smiles. They actually got us into our room early.
The Council Room Restaraunt had the best waitresses that we ever had. I didn't care that much for the food but I am extremely picky.
There is a little grill right off of the casino that ran $2 cheeseburger and $2 nacho specials. My husband and I had the cheeseburgers and they were really good for the price. My daughter had the nachos and she said they were good. When you'd rather spend your money gambling than eating, this was a real plus.
The gambling was good and they have a "no smoking section", as well. We didn't play bingo but it looked to always be full.
They have a wonderful spa with all kinds of services offered.
If you like a reasonable room and amenities with employees that take pride in their jobs, this is your place.

Room Tip: If you request a mountain view room you will, most likely, overlook the swimming pool and you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We did not stay in the resort so we cannot speak to the hotel. Casino was clean and seemed bigger than it was. Attractive looking spot with a view of nearby mountains. Free parking was ample. Smoking areas appeared well ventilated but for those wanting no smoking there is a room set aside for smoke free players. Saw lots of slots with a range of pricing. We were very pleased to find penny poker machines as well as nickel, quarter, etc. Since we play for fun it was nice to have that option. Also saw a number of penny slots as well as the higher dollar games so it seems there was a decent selection. Table games were $5 and up. There were not a lot of tables but enough to keep up with the interest on the night we visited. No alcoholic beverages are served on the casino floor so only soft drinks and water are complimentary. Drinks can be bought at the bar. Small area was set up for dancing. We did not try the food at any of the venues onsite. Rewards card provided 25 dollars of 'free' play and a coupon for a discounted hotel stay but only for new members.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, so this review is only for our dinner at Bien Shur. Our boss took us to dinner at the restaurant for the business' 18th anniversary, and the hotel and restaurant are both beautiful, and very upscale. The food was reasonably good, although a little expensive. Unfortunately, the service was not very good. Our waiter (Sean) seemed distracted for most of the meal, and we had to ask twice for refills and a correction to our order. It was very busy that night, so maybe that was the reason for the delays, but for the price of the food we were hoping for better service. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Casino & Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Samantha D
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding Bien Shur restaurant. I apologize that dinner service did not flow well and we appreciate your candid feedback as it allows us the opportunity to identify areas to improve upon. Though it may have been very busy that evening, as you mention, the volume of business is no excuse for our not properly taking care of business, and we strive to deliver a quality experience through the food, the service and the ambiance. It is when all of these come together that we are able to build loyal guests and lasting relationships. I hope you will give us another chance in the future to regain your confidence in Bien Shur as I am confident that we typically do a better job than this.
Thank you again for your time and constructive input.

David Kohler
Director of Food & Beverage
Sandia Resort and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a room for Saturday night (25th). We decided to take our daughter swimming earlier in the day, take her home and enjoy the Casino later. First, the pool is so nice! Person that checks out the towels was very nice and helpful. Met some nice people and enjoyed the music playing. Better bring money for the food at the bar, expensive and not alot of food. :( Drinks are pricey and chincy on the liquor. Your better off getting a drink inside the bar in the casino then outdoors, service is SLOW.
Our room had a balcony looking over the pool and golf course. Rooms are updated, roomy and have very comfortable beds! The casino was so packed, even at 2 in the morning, hard to get a good machine to play. In the furture we will try to get a non-holiday weekend, but still had a great time!
Oh, I left my pillow in the room, called and a Housekeeping Supervisor (Susan) called me back and had it. She was so nice! Thanks!!! :)
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandia Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Casino & Resort

Address: 30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#42 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Sandia Resort and Casino offers a refined and sophisticated atmosphere inspired by New Mexico's pueblo culture. A striking cobblestone porte-cochere entry greets arriving hotel guests, who are welcomed into the grand lobby highlighted by the mountain view and unique architecture featuring native pottery and art. Whether you are here to game, dine, golf or relax at the Green Reed spa, you will discover something new around each corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sandia Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Casino & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.