We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good Casino to play at.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Casino & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandia Casino & Resort to your Saves list
Sandia Casino & Resort
30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2-Night Special Package
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not a good Casino to play at.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The building and inside are magnificent looking. Great looking Casino from outside, but the selection of slot machines are terrible. Not many machines are the "cherries" or "bar" type. The majority of them are weird machines that you don't see at every casino, or at least not as many as are here. These machines seem to be so computerized that you don't have a chance of winning anything. Entirely in favor of the house. I had a miserable time and did not stay but a few hours. I didn't see anything to play that would keep me there. Route 66 Casino is MUCH better. Don't judge a book by it's cover.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time gambling at this casino. Go to Route 66. The food is great there and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Casino & Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We appreciate your compliments about the Sandia Resort & Casino’s architecture.
In addition, thank you for commenting about the slot machines in the Casino. I spoke to the Director of Slot Operations; he informed me we offer a diverse type of slot machines to our customers. We do have several “cherry” and “bar” slot machines throughout the Casino and in the Nonsmoking Room. Our slot machines are regulated by Sandia Tribal Gaming Commission and all pay back greater than 80%
We appreciate your patronage of the Sandia Resort & Casino and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Ally Lasater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    82
    23
    15
    22
See reviews for
43
121
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had a nightmarish experience at this establishment and plan to contact the owner about the bad behavior of one of their transportation employers. I have never experience anything this horrible in all of my travels around the world.
This smoke filled casino doesn't pay on anything and the place is full of come ons that lead no where. Avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: Be very careful here. Bait and Switch is the name of the game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Casino & Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience here at Sandia. My contact information is below. So, please contact me so we may get this resolved.

Best Regards,
James Torres
Chief of Security
jtorres@sandiacasino.com
505-796-7741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate at the buffet right after the Annual Balloon Fiesta. The buffet was packed but now I know why. The food was excellent! So many choices with such good flavor. The staff was friendly and attentive. Great choices. We were there during the Sunday Brunch buffet. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock,tx
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a one night stopover on a Vegas road trip. My wife had a reduced rate offer which we were able to use despite the fact that the balloon festival started the day we left. Check in was quick and we had a fifth floor room with view of city. Got to watch balloons take off and it was really great. Room was very nice, clean and quiet. Casino was good, won more than we lost, excellent selection of machines. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again, even at the posted rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were headed to Las Cruces and decided to spend the night at the Sandia Casino & Resort. If it is your first stay, you can sign up for their Casino Rewards card and get a Certificate for a night's stay for $99. Very pretty public places; the buffet is very reasonably priced and was quite good. The rooms were gorgeous with large flat screen TV. Beds and linens were so comfortable. The bathrooms were absolutely gorgeous; just like from a magazine. Had both a large soaking tub and separate large shower. Loved the accommodations.

All the people were extremely cordial and helpful.

Also with the Rewards Card, you received $25 in free play at almost any of the slot machines in the casino. I actually won some money without spending any of my own money. :) I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg,texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This Resort has everything and more. impecable rooms., and bathrooms are so nicely decorated and spacious They were so attentive and ready to assist you. They make you feel so welcome. Airport transportation simply the Best of the Best.

Room Tip: Exellent rooms and exellent price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice rooms with friendly people at the front desk. The problem started when the TV did not work and I called down and asked for help. After about 30 minutes I called again and they said the IT guy would call right away. Two and a half hours go by and the guy calls the room at 10:15 PM about the tv and I told him no thanks I have kids sleeping.

Next problem is the pillows are horrible here. They are so tall and very firm it is like you are trying to sleep with your head 6 or 7 inches too high. Asked the front desk and they said they would have housekeeping get softer pillows.....never happened.

The smell of smoke can be bad at times due to the casino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandia Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Casino & Resort

Address: 30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#43 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Sandia Resort and Casino offers a refined and sophisticated atmosphere inspired by New Mexico's pueblo culture. A striking cobblestone porte-cochere entry greets arriving hotel guests, who are welcomed into the grand lobby highlighted by the mountain view and unique architecture featuring native pottery and art. Whether you are here to game, dine, golf or relax at the Green Reed spa, you will discover something new around each corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sandia Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Casino & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.