We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum
9201 Balloon Museum Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM
505-880-0500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 208 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hot-air ballooning
Attraction details
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a fun stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I had no idea what a big deal the hot air balloons are in Alb. until we visited the museum. A walk through the museum doesn't take very long, but there are interesting displays and interactive areas for the kids. It is worth the small admission charge. If you are looking for souvenirs to take home, the gift shop is packed with good buys.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    86
    29
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A special place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I enjoyed my trip to the museum. A few of the interactive exhibits were not working properly, but other than that, it was very interesting, informative and enjoyable!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Up, up and away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Everything you ever wanted to know about hot air balloons this museum has it! The displays are well done and very informative. The gift shop has unique items for that discerning individual on your list too!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
271 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Just average; this should not be on your top ten list unless you are a landmark geek!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were not impressed but then again we never been in a hot air balloon. I got a headache reading some much. I wanted to touch, feel, hear but there is very little not to mentioned no movies to see. Sighhhhhhhhhhh. However, It is FREE on the First Friday of the month!!!

Parking is easy as long as the international festival is not going on. Some nice photo ops but after a while it all runs together. There is a main floor then the second floor is more of a balcony.

I would recommend this if you have kids to tease their senses and increase their imagination. i respect the profession/hobby. Especially those that fly around the world in a balloon basket. Very crazy but honorable and respectful! Don't come here hungry. They do have a penny machine. The gift store prices are very high but typical of most museum gift shops.

This should the last place to visit on your list if you have time. You are not missing anything but I do recommend the international Balloon Festival!

There is an intensive interactive Kids zone!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Everything you want to know about the Albuquerque balloon festival.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Although the museum is rather small, it covers a ton of balloon information and statistics.

It features several different balloons of all sizes and feats, including the balloons in war; the Gordon Bennett Competition; first aerial photography and the Albuquerque International balloon Fiesta.

If you are interested in balloons or the Albuquerque balloon fiesta, it is worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.