We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum

Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum
9201 Balloon Museum Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM
505-880-0500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 202 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hot-air ballooning
Attraction details
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A special place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I enjoyed my trip to the museum. A few of the interactive exhibits were not working properly, but other than that, it was very interesting, informative and enjoyable!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    69
    26
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Up, up and away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Everything you ever wanted to know about hot air balloons this museum has it! The displays are well done and very informative. The gift shop has unique items for that discerning individual on your list too!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
132 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Just average; this should not be on your top ten list unless you are a landmark geek!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were not impressed but then again we never been in a hot air balloon. I got a headache reading some much. I wanted to touch, feel, hear but there is very little not to mentioned no movies to see. Sighhhhhhhhhhh. However, It is FREE on the First Friday of the month!!!

Parking is easy as long as the international festival is not going on. Some nice photo ops but after a while it all runs together. There is a main floor then the second floor is more of a balcony.

I would recommend this if you have kids to tease their senses and increase their imagination. i respect the profession/hobby. Especially those that fly around the world in a balloon basket. Very crazy but honorable and respectful! Don't come here hungry. They do have a penny machine. The gift store prices are very high but typical of most museum gift shops.

This should the last place to visit on your list if you have time. You are not missing anything but I do recommend the international Balloon Festival!

There is an intensive interactive Kids zone!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Everything you want to know about the Albuquerque balloon festival.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Although the museum is rather small, it covers a ton of balloon information and statistics.

It features several different balloons of all sizes and feats, including the balloons in war; the Gordon Bennett Competition; first aerial photography and the Albuquerque International balloon Fiesta.

If you are interested in balloons or the Albuquerque balloon fiesta, it is worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All you need to know about hot air balloon history and travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great museum - you can't come to Albuquerque, the home of the Hot Air Balloon festival each October, and not learn about balloon science and history. Great exhibits - will return with friends and family so they might enjoy and learn.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.