We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Albuquerque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum

Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum
9201 Balloon Museum Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM
505-880-0500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 123 attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Specialty Museums, History Museums
Activities: Hot-air ballooning
Attraction Details
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A must see in Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great museum, great exhibits. It was great to see the original equipment used in transatlantic trips. It is a brand new museum and it was very affordable.

The gift shop was kind of disappointing, one could imagine that having a theme of hot air balloon one would find a galore of goodies.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    53
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to.visit together with the balloon.festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Educational fun place to occupy the children during the day during the international balloon festival.

Kids enjoyed the ballooning related activities

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Albuquerque GEM (great educational museum?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

May 26 2013. The International Balloon Museum in Albuquerque NM is a great place to learn about the history and science of hot air and gas ballooning and lighter than air flight. Also hang gliding and para gliding. Admission is $4 adult ($3 NM residents), but on my Sunday morning visit it was free. There were many interesting and educational exhibits (some interactive) on the two available levels. I enjoyed looking at the collection of hundreds of pins depicting ballooning and the international balloon fiesta over the years. I hope I can return to Albuquerque someday (October) to experience the fiesta. I almost missed this museum due to other activities, but I am very glad I found the time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just a good place to go to get the history of ballooning and how it came into being in Albuquerque. Lots of info, beautiful area were it is located, I believe there is more info still to be included there but it works to give the visitor the info that the musuem is based on.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Much More Than We Expected...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We happened to come across this place unexpectedly. It is extremely interesting even if you do not have an interest in Balloons....We would recommend it to any one.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum to your Saves list