We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see if you attend the Balloon Fiesta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum

Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum
9201 Balloon Museum Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM
505-880-0500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 199 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hot-air ballooning
Attraction details
Bellmore, Long Island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A must see if you attend the Balloon Fiesta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Balloon Museum is at the end of the Balloon Park. We vistied the musuem when we finished one of the balloon sessions. The musuem is very reasonaly price at just $4.00 and it gives an excellent history of ballooning, dating way back to the 1700's.

There are many volunteers everywhere ready to answer questions and help in any way they can. Very friendly place.

Lots of exhibits to walt through. I learned far more than I expected. Really enjoyed some of the displays of the balloons that attempted ocean crossings.

During our visit, they Felix Baumgartner was making his attempt to break the world altitude record in his helium balloon. They had the playing in a private area of the musuem which they allowed everyone into to watch. It was very fitting to see this feat while in the balloon museum.

If you are in the area, I highly recommend you stop in the this museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    72
    26
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“You must see this event!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The ABQ fiesta is special in that you are allowed to be on the field with the balloons/balloonists as they inflate and launch!! AMAZING views and experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Annual Fall Balloon Fiesta takes place here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Balloon Fiesta is the event in ABQ. The festival is coorganized by the museum and takes place adjacent to the site. There is a separate entrance (8$ per person, cash only) and separate parking (10$ per car, cash only) fee for all-day attendance at the Balloon Fiesta. Early morning "mass ascension" may include up to 400 hot air balloons, rising at dawn and going down again by about 10am, evening glow at dusk was very impressive. This was also the launch point for the Americas Challenge Gas Balloon long distance race - quite impressive how these can stay up in the air for 60 to even 90 hours, just two people in a basket under a balloon, going all the way to North Carolina. One evening ended in extensive fireworks (at least 30 minutes). If you are local, you may be able to get in free after ~6:30pm.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Learn a lot about balloons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Has a great learning experieince. read about the free fall before it happened. great info and great kids interactive events to learn and enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We parked in their parking lot when we went to the Balloon Festa, and went into the Museum, bought a few things that were rather bulky in size, to much to be carrying down into the Balloon Park so they held them for us ~!!, They had a shuttle ride down to the park and we took that then they picked us up walking back ! I loved looking around that Museum so much ~!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.