We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Sunport Place SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Denver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

All of the other reviews are pretty accurate...there is noise associated with this hotel..#1 The air conditioners...#2 The ice machine on the 3rd floor was VERY LOUD....so loud you could here it all the way down the hall way...Can imagine staying in the room by that thing....#3 Yes I did hear the occasional airplane taking off, but what property by an airport doesn't....#4 The bathroom fan was really loud as well, and looked like it could use a cleaning as well.

The parking lot was packed the night I was there...luckily I didn't have to park out on the street..

Check in was smooth and got a water and bag of pretzels for being in the Priority Club...The room was very well furnished with 2 queen beds, one of them right up against a wall. the bathroom was pretty roomy and nicely furnished.

I did not go to the restaurant at all, but did have a nice cold beverage in the bar area before bed one night, which was reasonably priced.

Keep in mind, if you stay here you will most likely need a car to get anywhere, nothing really by it except a few other hotel properties. I had no issues here that needed management attention so I didn't really have to much interaction with the staff..

Would I stay here again..most likely....but no where near the ice machines or elevators.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    44
    12
    15
See reviews for
31
39
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
88001
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel was incredibly bizarre. The airplane noise is completely understandable (thus airport hotel), but their airconditioning unit is louder than the planes flying by. Also, DO NOT get a room near the elevator or you will hear buzzing all night as well. The breakfast is expensive and not worth it and the staff lacks in personality. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Far away from Elevator and make sure your room has been cleaned before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear TravelRN2010,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise created by the air conditioning and elevator as well as the lack of personality of our staff. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in middle of June. The hotel was in an excellent location and was very clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, I loved the three mile radius shuttle availability. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody. (General Manager of the hotel)Management is very proactive and is available even early morning in the lobby to talk to guest, very impressive.

Room Tip: try to get room with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Decided to stay here at the last minute. Clerk gave me a walk in rate and was very friendly. They had a nice indoor pool that we enjoyed. I used the shuttle to drop my rental car off and then again to go back to the airport the next morning, they were very prompt and accomodating. Rooms were clean and quiet other than I think I heard the ice maker in the hall several times but that wasnt too bad. I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

New, clean sheets, okay location next to the airport. Stuff service can be better. One thing i really don't like about holiday inn is breakfast is not included, unlike any other same level hotels. I'd recommend other lower star hotels for travelers on budget. Same room, service, but lower price with breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is really a lovely hotel. The rooms are excellently decorated with a lovely confortable big bed. The hotel has some great facilities - a lovely bar area, swimming pool and hot tub. Staff were great and really helpful. Anytime we passed reception, we were greeted and asked whether someone could be of help (which we appreciated). This is a great hotel, nicely styled and very comfortable. Great breakfast too. Worth driving out of town to the airport for!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very friendly and professional staff. Received a room upgrade because of Priority Club status. The room was very clean. Pool area with sauna was great. We liked our stay so much we extended by an extra night. Location very convenient to ABQ airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area

Address: 1501 Sunport Place SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the Virtual Tour. The new addition to Albuquerque is the contemporary, stylish and comfortable Holiday Inn Select , conveniently located near Albuquerque International Airport, off I-25 at Exit 221, and the University of New Mexico. This elegant property is close to Albuquerque International Sunport, Kirtland AFB, and Sandia National Labs. We offer 121 spacious guest rooms with spectacular views including 540sf suites with whirlpool tubs. We are a non-smoking facility and offer FREE High-Speed Internet. Our amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor pool, 24-hour business center, and large banquet/meeting space.Look Again at the all new Holiday Inn Select Hotel Albuquerque where we offer plush pillow top mattresses and premium bedding, a refreshing shower experience & Garden Botanika shower products, & Wolfgang Puck's Coffee. Relax and enjoy an appetizing meal or your favorite drink at the Sunport Bar & Grille. Earn points and miles with Priority Club Rewards.Businesses: Kirtland AFB, Sandia National Labs, EclipseHospitals: UNM Hospital, Lovelace Sandia Health Systems, Presbyterian Hospital, VA Hospital Universities: University of New Mexico (UNM), CNM Local Attractions: Albuquerque Convention Center, Sandia Peak/Tramway, Historic Old Town, Casinos, Balloon Fiesta, Journal Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.