We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Rooms and Dorms in Historic Home, Close to Music, Cafes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66 International Hostel

Save Saved
You added Route 66 International Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Route 66 International Hostel
1012 Central Avenue SW, Albuquerque, NM (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
malonetravels2
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Private Rooms and Dorms in Historic Home, Close to Music, Cafes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Both last week and this week we had events to attend in Albuquerque so we took our bikes onto the NM Railrunner train from Santa Fe to Alvarado Station. From the Station we went west on Central Ave about 10 interesting blocks through the heart of the revitalized Downtown to the Route 66 Hostel. We stayed in two different homey upstairs private rooms . The Hostel stored our bikes for us. Though there is a kitchen with disheswe chose to splurge and eat out. Lunch was at the very nice Flying Star Cafe on Silver Street with free wifi and with vegan options ! For dinner we walked four blocks to Sushi Hanna for their half price happy hour sushi then at 8pm went to the Launchpad to hear three bands which had very reasonable drink prices. Next morning we enjoyed the free wi-fi as we had the included breakfast of dry cereal, powdered milk, fruit and coffee. We took a couple of chore cards and completed them. The bus stop we needed was very close to the Hostel and we took our bikes to the University of New Mexico to the 350.org event. Afterward, we coasted our bikes back down the hill to the train station. We have stayed in hostels and backpackers in numerous countries around the world, and this one is as good as most of those.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a double and a single bed and bath, as well as views to the west. Room 9 had a double and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    5
    7
    13
See reviews for
1
5
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Right across Central Ave from famous Old Town makes this an ideal location. Staff was friendly & very helpful. It made this visit to Albuquerque totally affordable and I will go back here anytime
my travels take me to Abq. There are same-sex dorm rooms and private rooms for couples.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

we chose this hostel because we had to go by train to indian market festival in Santa Fe on august and sleeping in Santa Fe is really expensive. The hostel is 15 minutes walking to the train station, and you can enjoy a train trip to Santa Fe. The hostel is on the route 66 between dowtown (5 minutes walking) and the old touristic town (10 minutes walking).
We chose the ensuite room, simple and bright, and very cheap! The hostel is good for young people, is charming but slovenly. Free parking on the backside

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good location, walk to down town nightlife. Might be a longish walk if you're packing from the train station, but doable. Parking is a little tight but available. Beautiful comfortable old building with creaky floors and lots to explore. I stayed in the large dorm as I always do, bathroom facilities hadn't been upgraded to multi-user versions, so some folks might find that dicey. Extremely good kitchen! I could comfortably stay here for a long stay or while house-hunting if I was going to resettle in Albuquerque. Mattresses had those heavy rubber covers which have become more and more common in US hostels, oh well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hostel has no air conditioning in the dorms, wi-fi is filtered, staff is very rude. The dorms are very hot and the fitted sheets constantly slide off of the plastic mattress covers.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here Sat Dec 3rd - Sun Dec 4th.
Amazing place. When I arrived in Albuquerque I happened to stumble upon the town having their Christmas Parade right on the same street the hostel was located. All the guests were happily hanging out on the porch, drinking and having a gay old time.
The girl who checked me in was really nice but seemed a little pre-occupied and sort of rushed the check in because she wanted to get back to drinking with her friends, but that didn't bother me.

The girls dorm was huge with 4 bunk beds and even a couch in the room.
The place was really roomy and i felt at home lounging around.
Very clean place.

Only tiff i have about this place is the parking!! Only parking available was 2 spots behind the hostel in an alley. The girl in charge told me NOT to park on the street or my car would defiantly be broken into. So i managed to squeeze it into one of the spots in the alley.

Other than that I would most certainly stay here again, I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

No AC in the room in august, room clean, bathroom clean but soooo old. Service nice, but slow.

It's not the best motel, but it's ok for one night because it's really cheap.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Route 66 International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 International Hostel

Address: 1012 Central Avenue SW, Albuquerque, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty lodging in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Route 66 International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 International Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66 International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.