We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST DO while in Albuquerque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Ryders

Rainbow Ryders
5601 Eagle Rock Ave. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87122
+1 505-823-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$195*
and up
Ranked #4 of 98 Activities in Albuquerque
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Experience of a Lifetime Happening Right Now!" Rainbow Ryders Inc. Hot AIr Balloon Company is proudly celebrating 30 years of flight experience. Offering hot air balloon rides first thing in the morning at sunrise year round and sunset flights in the winter months. Enjoy your hour long flight over the beautiful Rio Grande Valley, upon landing you will be welcomed back to the ground with a celebratory toast and a light continental breakfast as you are presented your commemorative flight certificate. We have proudly flown over 170,000 passengers and are the official balloon ride operator of the Worlds Largest Balloon Event. Flying in PHOENIX and ALBUQUERQUE year round!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bastrop, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MUST DO while in Albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Brooke was our pilot and we had a great time. It was our first time in a hot air balloon and I'll be honest - I was a little terrified. Brooke and Ian were so relaxed and fun that in no time I was poking my head over the edge to look down. We flew in between the cottonwood trees along the river and saw a coyote running away from us. We had a champagne toast after we landed (they'll explain) and went on our way. We were able to help get the balloon ready and watched the sunrise over the Sandia Mtns from our basket. Beautiful and peaceful way to see the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    44
    13
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rice, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Balloon Ride!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everything about the trip was excellent. Great flight,very professional pilot, nice smooth landing. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GOTTA BE ON YOUR BUCKET LIST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Folks, this ain't cheap, but it IS a class-act. They pick you up in the lobby of your hotel, take you up and over the Rio Grande River and even "dip" the basket into the river for a little thrill. The pilots are truly professional and you even have a champagne toast (they'll explain) at the end of your ride. Just do this and you will NOT regret it. The views from 1,000 feet are wonderful. They artfully "ride" the different layers of air to guide the balloon for a smooth as silk landing. I'm gonna do it again the next time I'm in Albuquerque, that's for sure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Something for your Bucket List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Awesome ride and awesome weather. Our pilot was Brooke and he was very professional and personable. I would definately recommend this company. Safety is first and foremost.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great ride, but not very honest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took our hot air balloon ride today, and it was FABULOUS. Brook was our pilot, and he was great. We were supposed to go for the ride 10/31/12, but on 10/29/12, Amanda called me and said it was going to be windy on our scheduled day, so those flights were being cancelled and offered us to reschedule for 11/1/12. We were in Albuquerque, but were planning to go to Santa Fe on 10/31/12 after our ride. We had to reschedule 2 motel rooms, one in Albuquerque and one in Santa Fe to facilitate this change, and also drive an hour each way from Santa Fe for our newly scheduled day. Of course we wanted to have a safe balloon ride, so we rescheduled. I wondered with the Albuquerque weather being beautiful for days, how she could tell 2 days ahead of time, that it would be too windy, There was no noticeable weather that I could see or feel. Long story short, when we went for our ride today, I asked if they flew on 10/31/12 (our original date) and they said yes, and they were sold out. So basically, they rescheduled us, probably since they needed our spots, and not due to weather issues, as I was told. This was a lie and was dishonest. SO BEWARE, THEY ARE NOT HONEST.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Ryders also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Ryders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Ryders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.