We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round great hike...day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luz Trail

La Luz Trail
2113 Osuna Road Northeast, Albuquerque, NM 87113
+1 505 346 2650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“All round great hike...day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived in Albuquerque at 1 pm, checked into our hotel and we left the trailhead at 2 pm. It was a little bit warm (upper 80's) but not for us coming from Phoenix...it was a beautiful day. The second time we have hiked La Luz, and we enjoyed it greatly the first time 6 years ago. Another motive for this hike was training for our goal of hiking Pikes Peak in several days. La Luz is a nice well maintained trail even though it has quite a few rock fields at near the top from past slides. This does slow you down a bit...and be careful not to twist an ankle. The trail isn't what we would consider steep, but a steady climb to over 10,000 is a good workout, especially coming from low land Phoenix. We also like this trail as we can take the Tram down, a different view, saving time, but also saving our knees and joints. We had a nice meal at the High Finance restaurant at sunset. We did mange to get a ride back to the trail-head (a 3 mi hike) which we are told is generally easy. There were also several taxis at the bottom probably for the same reason as hiking in the dark is a bit tougher even though we did have our headlights. An all round good experience and highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We heard that this was THE hike to do in the Sandias, and I can't imagine a better choice! We only had one weekend to hike the mountains before the trails closed for the summer, so we had to prioritize and do the La Luz trail.

We started early-ish on a Saturday morning (just after 8 o clock), and I definitely recommend going in the morning. It can get to the upper 90s during the day, but it was in the low 70s at the beginning, and by the time it got hotter, being up on the mountains with all of the wind made it cool.

The trail is listed as difficult in all of the guides, but don't be scared off because of that. There are a ton of switchbacks on the trail, so the inclination is never really too steep.

I recommend starting from the parking lot at the bottom of the tram, hiking to the peak to see the Kiwanis cabin, and then continuing on the crest trail to the top of the tram. We took the tram down, which was incredible and also recommended so you don't have to hike the 3.5-4 hours back down.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You Don't Want to "Luz" Out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

La Luz is a great trail to take if you are looking for something to do in Albuquerque but don’t feel like driving far. The trailhead is easily accessible from town, being located just outside of the city limits. When we hiked it, we parked one vehicle at the base of the Tram, and took another vehicle to the trailhead (this will save you around two miles of hiking). The trail takes you from the base of the Sandias, all the way to the crest; from here you get a great view of Albuquerque. Once we got to the crest, we hiked to the Tram where we bought a one way ticket ($12.00) to take us down the mountain. The trail was only eight miles (one way), and even though we took our time, it only took us four hours to make the climb.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hike this time of year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We hiked all the way up to the top and rode the tram down, as I wasn't sure if my knees could handle coming back down. I'm only 38, but the last hike we did in Oregon was straight up, so coming back down was worse than going up. So, I was expecting this to be the same....it's not. It's basically a lot of switchbacks, which made it such an easy (for me) and enjoyable hike. It was 99 degrees in ABQ, but once we got to the 4 mile mark, it become more shady and cooler. Bring lots of water, bananas/energy gels and some snacks if you plan to hike all the way up to the top. The best part? Getting to have lunch and a beer as a reward at the top at High Finance restaurant!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip for hiking or picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Perfect day trip for hiking or picnic...trail is perfect, offers wonderful vistas of Albuquerque, easy to get to, lots to see and take in-vegetation, wildlife, dried creek beds, and of course the mountains. Great for couples or the kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luz Trail also viewed

 

Been to La Luz Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luz Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.