We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shutdown blues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Luz Trail

La Luz Trail
2113 Osuna Road Northeast, Albuquerque, NM 87113
+1 505 346 2650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 123 attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shutdown blues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Like to hike La Luz when in NM but do not like to go to the bathroom near a busy trail. La Luz has the option of the crest with closed Fed bathrooms during the shutdown, or hike on over to the Tram restaurant High Finance and get a drink and some relief. Hope this review becomes outdated soon

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So disappointed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

in myself! I have lived in ABQ most of my life and have never hiked this trail! This was a fun, beautiful, stunning hike. A few friends and I hiked La Luz yesterday as a training hike for the Grand Canyon next month. When we started out it was a little chilly, we were all in shorts layered tops. At times I wore my long sleeve and jacket and other times was down to a sleeveless top. We keep a nice pace but did stop for food/water breaks, to take pictures and just to enjoy the pure beauty of the trail. Towards the top the trail becomes a rock slide trail and will test your sure footedness! If you are hiking in spring or fall temperatures can drastically change and storms move in quickly so plan accordingly. The hike took us just over four hours. While it was challenging at times anyone relatively good shape should have no problem enjoying La Luz all the way to the top. I look forward to doing this hike again and my only regret was waiting so long to do it in the first place!

NOTE: We parked at the La Luz trailhead; the parking lot was full so we parked a little ways down the road. Whether you find yourself doing the same or getting a parking spot do NOT miss the pay station in the lot. If you do your welcome back to your car will include a complimentary parking ticket ($75!)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surprisingly lovely gem in the Sandia Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This became one of my favorite walking tails while in Albuquerque on an extended business trip.
The delightful gondola ride up the mountain, topped off by the views from the tail, and the unexpected emergency cabin at the summit made for an enjoyable,relaxing day filled with sunshine, fresh air and healthful activity.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Top of the world experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I hiked this several years ago. As many people do, we parked our car at the base of the Tram, hiked the tramway trail which joins the La Luz in 2 miles or so. On this September morning about 7, I started at the proper trailhead meaning to do the day hike up and down to Sandia Crest. Once you pass the tramway junction, the trail begins its switchbacks and the views begin and you'll be reaching for the camera every 15 minutes or sooner. Morning air was cool but not crisp yet. The sun was lighting up the city below but the granite peaks provided shade for me till 10 or so when I reached the boulder fields. I did not count them but there are supposed to be 19 switchbacks that spiral up the solid granite mountainside. It is not very difficult but you just have to watch your footing since of course, rocks are jagged and totally random in their positions. When at last, I reached the split point where you can go right which leads to the top of the tram or left to the crest which I took. Just about a mile long but it is truly constant climb and by the end, my legs were wobbly.

At the top (about 11000') there is a large parking lot. Yes, you could have driven up.
I ate my lunch, rested and started back down in 30 minutes. Somehow, going down was much easier than coming up. I consider myself an average hiker (I take my time, take pictures, rest) and was back at my car 4 in the afternoon. Overall, the weather was nearly perfect, mostly cool temps and one short period of rain. Searching on the net for the actual mileage was a bit confusing; some said 18 miles, others 15. I am going with the latter. Thus I did 15 miles roundtrip in 9 hours total with probably an hour of breaks.

Views are excellent throughout the hike but I have to say, near the Crest not at the parking lot, there is a point in the trail where you could literally leap off into the air. Here you feel like a bird ready to take flight.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We walked a few miles of this trail from Sandia Peak. It was really fun but it is not for little ones and don't try it without proper footwear. There are parts where the edge of the trail is a straight down drop. Not dangerous as long as you are paying attention, trail is a few feet wide. Some stunning views!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luz Trail also viewed

 

Been to La Luz Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luz Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Luz Trail to your Saves list