We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no whining over this winery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gruet Winery

Gruet Winery
8400 Pan American Freeway Northeast, Albuquerque, NM 87113
505 821 0055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 98 Activities in Albuquerque
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“no whining over this winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

this is one of the best sparkling wines you can have. prepared in the french style of bubbly. each wine both their NV and vintage wines are just a taste treat. we enjoyed our visit to the winery so much.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    3
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“But why in New Mexico ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Convivial small bar, very good value for the various groups/flights of wine, pleasant staff but no explanation as to why and how this family champagne business ended up in NM. That was the question I have has since trying the sparkling wine in NY several years ago and there was no answer here. Some photos on the wall in the hall to the bathrooms and that was really it. Saw some of the wines in a local super market the next day for 5 to 15 pct less. Convenient location, but then again, so is the local super market. However the two groups at the bar were having a ball, so it comes down to what you're looking for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I enjoy going to the various wineries when I vist New Mexico, So good, I joined the wine club. Service was friendly! Loved the still and the sparkling wines and enjoy getting them here at home. Very convenient loction, too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, ky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant, freindly winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The people running this tasting room have great knowledge of their wines and the wine making process here. Not to mention that the sparkling wines are quite delicious. There are no fields to look at, as the grapes are grown in a more amenable location ( for wine grapes), about 150 miles south along the Rio Grande. A friendly place I always stop at when in Albuquerque.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“sparkling and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stopped here on our way through Albuquerque.They sell their sparkling wines nationally,so I was somewhat familiar with them (they have a good product),but knew they also had a production of still wines we were interested in trying.
The tasting room was easy to get to,right off the interstate,and was a pleasant surrounding. The young lady working there was very knowledgeable about the wines and pleasant in every way. We tried both reds and whites plus the champagnes and were impressed enough that we ended up joining there wine club. A good experience

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruet Winery also viewed

 

Been to Gruet Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruet Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.