We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Botanic Garden

Rio Grande Botanic Garden
2601 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)
(505) 764-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Essexville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this garden. Lots of shade. The minature train garden was really cute and quite large. I loved the pond with the ducks and Canadian geese. The butterfly house was small, but well stocked with a big variety of butterflies and friendly workers. The price is reasonable and there is no parking fee. We didn't have time for the combo pass, but would love to go back again. You didn't have to do a lot of walking to see something. Just beautiful.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    72
    15
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had bought a combo pass that day, that was good for the zoo, aquarium, and botanic gardens. Towards the end of the day we ran out of time so we didn't have but an hour and half, and boy do I wish we were able to spend several there. We started out in the Children's garden and what a delight. It's like you were a bug in a garden. In addition beautiful gardens, a butterfly garden, a miniature train garden. Just incredible, I would definitely recommend it, and set aside at least a few hours to check it out.

My 1 year old loved it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Surprise for town this size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Had a great time. Very pretty lay out and easy to get around. Well kept up and convenient location. Looking forward to going again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Toured this wonderful garden early in the day to beat the heat! It was perfect. Walked at a casual pace taking photos of all the hidden gardens. Then we found paradise. The children's gardens. Giant ants and mushrooms, flower pots ten fet tall. Bees buzzing the size of Volkswagens. Oh to feel like akid again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent a Monday morning in July at the Botanical Garden. It was not crowded even though several day cares and a day camp were present. The highlight for us was the enclosed Butterfly garden. We have been to other such gardens, but this one had by far the most butterflies. The Japanese Garden with its waterfalls was also a highlight. We wish more of the plants had been labeled or some resource available to help us identify what we were seeing. There is construction currently underway to improve and add to the garden. We found three hours to be adequate. There is only one food option, so either bring your own food and beverages or plan to go elsewhere.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.