We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Aren't Hot Air Balloons Amazing??? Don't Just Watch, Why Not Join the Experts!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balloon Fiesta Park

Balloon Fiesta Park
9401 Balloon Museum Dr., Albuquerque, NM 87113
(505) 768-6050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Victor, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Aren't Hot Air Balloons Amazing??? Don't Just Watch, Why Not Join the Experts!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is said- by some- to be the most photographed yearly event and, if true, why in the heck did Kodak give up the sponsorship a few years ago???
Not only is it one of the only places in the world where you can be 'on the field' as the 750 amazing colorful balloons lift off, you can rub shoulders with the 'officials', dressed in zebra referee outfits. They blow their whistles to individually lift off the balloons to prevent collisions! Early birds only, however, as the early morning liftoff is before sunrise to take advantage of less wind, and hopefully a successful liftoff. BUT, much more of the fun is experienced if you choose to be part of the 'chase crew' of a balloonist. You can apply-on line- before your arrival there or sign up to 'crew' when you get to Albuquerque. If help is needed, you will be assigned to assist the 'crew' lay out their balloon, help inflate it, and assist in take off. Then, hop in the chase vehicle to help spot the balloon's flight. Since the wind 'controls' the balloons flight path, the chase vehicle, and you, serpentine your way down the highways and through the streets to help plan the-hopefully -successfully landing! When the descent occurs, help guide the balloon to a safe landing and assist with folding up the balloon and loading it in the vehicle. IF your lucky, your balloonist may invite you for a gratuitous ride the next day to show his appreciation for your work. And, if it's your first hot air balloon ride, a first time semi-official ceremony takes place at the lift off field! If you do not assist in a launch, a balloon ride is a near must. To be among 749 other balloons, of all shapes, sizes and colors, soaring over Albuquerque is just amazing. The night glows are another 'gift' to observe certain evenings and the balloonists also have various 'competitions' among themselves to help maintain interest and participation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    59
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great time at the ABQ Balloon Fiesta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a great time at the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta this year at both an early morning event and an evening balloon glow (where the balloons just inflate in place and don't actually take off). Both were fun we walked around the large grass field and visited with the friendly people handling the balloons.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Hot air balloon fiesta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you love color, shapes and hot air balloons VISIT the fiesta! Oct each year this is a wonderful site to see with the morning launch and the night glows..The up close and personal area you get tot the balloons and the owners is so nice. The time we attended we had "Swap" cards like collectors baseball cards with each balloon having their own t give out. And do they go fast!
You can be overwhelmed by the beauty of the colors and the twinkling in the skies when you see over 700 launch at once during Mass Assentation.. Games go on during the day and the Night glows and lauches at dark. Even if the wind grounds them, they find ways to twinkle to music and other entertaining things on the ground. I will add pictures later. Take a lawn chair and be prepared to walk down to the area from parking on the hill. There is a small fee daily for parking. They offer hot air balloon rides but you need to book online in advance. It's expensive but, less than locally! And they are trained ! If you want a close motel (only a couple) start now! We stayed out by Scandia Peak and it was not a bad drive after we learned the back road! I believe we took over 700 pictures , words cannot express how exciting it is to see! Visit old town and see handcrafted jewelry and items there. Not a far drive to go to nearby towns also. Try it once!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“best photography shots!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

so my experience was amazing- as a photographer I was able to shoot photographs early morning, daytime and evening of these beautiful balloons. clear, blue skies and cool weather and a wonderful trip and the town was fantastic! great trip!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! We were on a roadtrip across the US and happened to be in Albuquerque while the Balloon Fiesta was on. This was the best surprise we had in 10000 miles. There were many vendors selling a variety of food.

I am from Canada so we are accustomed to cold. I was told multiple times that it would be freezing (we went to an event at night). We only needed our winter coats. (Had blankets and sleeping bags and didn't need them.)

This is my favorite fair ever and I can't wait to return. Highly recommended.

A few tips:

1) There are golf carts to help you up/ down the slight hill from the parking lot. Really useful at the end of the night with my son in the stroller.

2) I would pay the $10 to park on site. There was the option of paying $3 to park at a place that looks like it is close. It isn't! They said it is just up the hill and I'm pretty sure I would've spent 1 hr walking in (with my son in stroller).

3) We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Old Town. This allowed us to see some balloons in the morning while enjoying our breakfast buffet. Some balloons even landed in the empty field right outside of our hotel. Amazing!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balloon Fiesta Park also viewed

 

Been to Balloon Fiesta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balloon Fiesta Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.