We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Zoo

Rio Grande Zoo
903 Tenth St SW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
+1 505-764-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Attraction details
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Grandkids got to ride on camels with a good photo op!  But we may have enjoyed that more than the little girls did!  Also need to go to the aquarium.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    160
    35
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RIO RANCHO, NEW MEXICO, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Give your review a title”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have been to this zoo since the early 1960's. I have watched it grow and change. The animal exibits are better than many I saw at the San Diego Zoo. Strange for a small city zoo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Zoo for a city this size.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I lived in Albuquerque 15 years ago and wanted to see if the zoo was still one of my favorites in the country. I visit zoos wherever I go and this is still one of the top zoos all time. Amazing that a city the size of Albuquerque has such a great zoo. Many fine specimens (especially the cats and giraffes). I miss seeing Esperanza, the world's first test-tube cheeta from wild sperm. I understand that they lost her to a disease some time ago. Great job, Albuquerque.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's pretty good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

They made a decent attempt at nice areas for the animals. There are food courts (pricey but decent choices). There's a great play area with shooting water for the kids - but be prepared with a change of clothes and be ready for them to not want to move on. Standard animals, nothing spectacular. Train schedules and route are a bit whacked. Fun day overall.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen, New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Hard to navigate even with the map. The animals seem very well taken care of - and that's important

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Grande Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.