We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 66 Diner

66 Diner
1405 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-4801
505-247-1421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very fun stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Wonderful decor, great music playing, friendly and helpful wait staff = very fun retro experience.

My husband got a chocolate malt, and his comment was "too bad nobody makes them like this anymore." It was authentic and excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    93
    49
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The milk shakes were just lovely,and the staff were fun and took our pictures.We would have come back but the town and route have so much to offer.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Go for shakes, stay for food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place does phenomenal shakes; a double essentially gets you two of them, so beware. My husband almost always orders a vanilla, and this's place sold him years ago. I ordered the Elvis ;peanut butter and banana) which carries both flavors really well. Now, for the food - I had the green chile stew, and the pepper in that bowl more than made up for the previous two days of food claiming to have heat but lying to me. The bowl came with a tortilla and I needed every bite. I love hot, but some will find it too hot. My husband had the liver and onions with mashed potatoes and gravy. Smelled delicious, though he inhaled it without me getting a bite.

The servers here are always pleasant, knowledgable about the restaurant offerings. BTW, they usually do good pie and crisp, though I was too full for it this trip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best meatloaf sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

went here for lunch best meatloaf. server was the coolest-made me a great diet cherry coke and offered me a refill to go--how cool is that? do it people! btw-peggy sue's in 29 palms could learn how to make meatloaf from these guys for sure!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Americana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Anything related to Route 66 grabs our attention. Easy to find and just down the street from our hotel we found it easy to locate. We felt like we had returned to the set of Happy Days and expected to see the Fonz appear around the corner. We expected to find a small cramped space but boy were we wrong. There's a huge dining room to the rear of the building and it seems that they are able to handle large groups of folks. Typical diner fare with burgers, fries and even meatloaf. Judging from looking around I would say their ice cream sundaes, malts and milk shakes are favored by all. Our waiter and other servers were friendly and helpful with the menu and encouraged me to have just a little sundae so I did have a mini which was just enough to polish off a good meal.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 66 Diner also viewed

Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to 66 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 66 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.