We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for old diner atmosphere but a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 66 Diner

66 Diner
1405 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-4801
505-247-1421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Nice for old diner atmosphere but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Right down the road is a much cheaper breakfast option (Frontier). The atmosphere was neat, service was good, waitresses dressed in 50's attire, music matched the atmosphere, but hard to rationalize the higher prices when the Frontier is cheaper and so close by. It is a fun place to stop in once but we would not necessarily go back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    92
    49
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Take a leap back to the 1950's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fun, old-time diner! Service was great - our waitress smiled a lot and seemed genuinely to care if we were enjoying our meal. The decor is kitschy with checkerboard floors, turquoise booths and wait people dressed in turquoise uniforms. Lots of 50's and 60's music. Food was delicious and the chocolate shakes were some of the best we'd ever had.

I'd definitely recommend a stop here for a fun, refreshing meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visit this place after the ABQ Trolley Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place for lunch or dinner . . . and if you've taken the ABQ Trolley Tour, just show the little round sticker from that tour that you stuck on your chest and receive a free ($4.99 value) milk shake or malt . . . a big, thick malt or milkshake. . . with your meal. (We ate there twice, post-trolley tour, and enjoyed the free milk shakes both times.)

We found the food and service to be very good. The wait staff for both visits was very friendly, engaging and helpful and everyone at the table (five of us both times) declared to food to be extra good.

Not a selling point for most, but they do serve liver and onions and it is the best I've ever had. Cooked just right, with BOTH onions and bacon. Plus two sides. If you're a liver and onion fan, this is a definite "must eat" place!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classic for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Only place open after nine in the neighborhood in weekdays. All the classic american diner plates are here, service is fast. As expected, quantity more than quality, but it's a diner, not a restaurant. Shakes were good. Prices a little steep, you are paying for the decor, but it's a nice decor.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great taco salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice 50-60's era diner located near university. We both enjoyed our meals, good selection and service. The taco salad and chili burger were especially good. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 66 Diner also viewed

Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to 66 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 66 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.