We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Pastrami!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California Pastrami

California Pastrami
6125 Montgomery Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109
505-872-9253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,536 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Pastrami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We love pastrami, and this is our favorite place to have pastrami in Albuquerque. They serve generous portions, fresh off the grill. Try the potato salad - it is wonderful!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Reuben Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were visiting Albuquerque and checked Trip Advisor for a restaurant suggestion and read the reviews for California Pastrami. The reviews were right on, the food was great, lots of meat, good value, but not cheap. We got the Reuben Sandwich, served on buttered rye toast, pilled high with corned beef, cheese and sauerkraut. The sandwich is $10.25 (combo with fries and drink is $12.25). Good corned beef and pastrami is never cheap. One of the best Reuben I've ever had. On this occasion they also had a pineapple upside down cake which was excellent (any only $2 a slice),

As it was my first visit there, the staff was very helpful and friendly. We spoke with the owner who is looking to expand. The restaurant is fairly small. The air conditioning was working just fine on this visit (see the previous post). The sandwiches are grilled to order, so expect to wait about 5 minutes (extremely reasonable for a hot made to order sandwich).

They also have a steak sandwich, hamburgers, fish tacos, roast beef, philly cheesesteaks, nachos and chili dogs and fries. Will definitely stop by on my next visit to Albuquerque.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fix the A/C”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Too hot inside, took forever to get my hamburger. Good sandwiches, nice employees. Mom had fish tacos and they were very tasty. No salad selection, if they had that it would be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hard to beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

the corn beef and pastrami are top notch meats. Had the Reuben sandwich on a couple different occasions. One of the best if not the best reuben sandwich in town. Prices are on the higher end of local sandwich shops but very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The service was excellent and the food was top notch. The Eastern style combo was delicious and very filling. I would definitely recommend this place to anybody who asked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pastrami also viewed

 

Been to California Pastrami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Pastrami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.