We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food in an Informal Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophia's Place

Sophia's Place
6313 4th St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-5801
505-345-3935
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in an Informal Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Definitely informal setting; I prefer to sit outside on the picnic benches/tables, rather than inside which is quite cramped and can be noisy. Try to get there at 11:30 or 12:30 for lunch, because seating is limited and this place is packed at lunchtime because the food is amazing! Duck tacos are great. Salads are fresh and delicious. You order your food at the counter and it is delivered to you when seated. Your service provider will be the person who takes your order at the counter and delivers food to your table. Iced tea and coffee are self-serve at a station located between front door and counter. Not a fancy coffee spot (no espresso, etc. but coffee is good!) Be sure to look at the chalkboard and see what the daily specials are that day, because that is the meal you need to order- delicious!!. Located in Los Ranchos on North 4th Street, place is easy to miss because it looks like a dump. The food is not cheap, because it is really expertly prepared from superior ingredients - fresh, fresh, fresh! If you want lots of cheap food, eat at Sadie's across the street. No alcohol served here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    34
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,681 reviews 1,681 reviews
571 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 460 cities Reviews in 460 cities
1,661 helpful votes 1,661 helpful votes
“Gourmet very casual New Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This laid back hole in the wall serves some of the best New Mexican food around. Where can you get delicious duck tacos with salad, rice and refried beans, as well as a stuffed shrimp and black bean quesadilla? Both platters only $10 and they accepted a restaurant.com coupon. Do not miss this great place. Breakfast is served all day and they have indoor and outdoor seating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Down Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is not chain fast food all things taste the same place. My sandwich was excellent and service sincere. I was running late and had to make it quick but I will be back and spend more time to enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Blue Corn Pancakes! Shut up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is kinda a little hole in the wall, but the food is really good. All the locals were there and that tells you that you're on to something. Yum!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Dreaming of this breakfast Burrito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I rarely comment on these things but I have been dreaming of this meal I had a year ago when I flew into town from Dallas on a photography assignment and a lady suggested Sophia's Place..."oh and get the breakfast burrito with red and green sauce!" they said.
The kitchen is no bigger than a walking closet but they produce some of the best dishes and good looking.....but wait ....the taste was amazing! Crowded but they worked at a blazing speed to keep lots happy. Also Met a really nice couple there...so had a grand time with good cooking , nice people, and the best dang burrito! If this were a high scale fancy white table clothed place this would be a expensive dish but not here. I travel a lot and to have the enthusiasm , good food , and great people service ....you got it made! Going back in the morning after I land!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Place also viewed

 

Been to Sophia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophia's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.