We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comida Deliciosa in ABQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscos Altamar

Mariscos Altamar
1517 Coors Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87121 (West Mesa)
505 831 1496
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,516 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: West Mesa
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comida Deliciosa in ABQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Mariscos Altamar is a great choice for enjoying a delicious, moderately priced Mexican meal. My husband & I dined there on Friday (3/15/13) and it was just as enjoyable & delicious as our first time there. We often travel to Albuquerque, and the first time at Mariscos Altamar we ordered fajitas & enchiladas, which were very tasty, so good in fact, that we decided to go back on our latest trip to NM.
This time around we both ordered fish - sea bass smothered in chopped garlic & sliced mushrooms for my husband, and the garlic mojarra with mushrooms was my choice. Both were tender & full of flavor; the rice was very good, not gooey or dried - just right, and the mixed vegetable grill was excellent as well. My husband elected to substitue a 2nd serving of the vegetables instead of rice & his meal conformed perfectly with his Paleo diet.
Onto the alcohol - my mojito was one of the best I've EVER had, and Mr. Man's sangria was also very good. (But I don't think that's on the Paleo program, LOL!)
The combined Mexican/marine themed decor is appropriate for their name & menu and enhances the dining experience. It appears that the family has sunk quite a bit of money into the decor & building, but that isn't reflected in their menu prices.The dining area & restrooms were more than acceptably clean. They also provided entertainment: a troubadour was circulating around & serenading the patrons, and I have to say that he had a beautiful, strong voice.
Apparently Mariscos Altamar is just as popular with families with children as it is with young adults & older patrons. My guess is that their volume is what has enabled them to have an attractively decorated restaurant & great food at reasonable prices instead of having to stick it to the customers.
A final note: the servers, every one of them, was cheerful, polite & speedy. If you're in Albuquerque & want an excellent Mexican meal, visit these folks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and close to many hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were staying at the Hampton Inn off I-40, and asked for a reccomendation for dinner. This restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel. We tried the carnaes asada and the shrimp rancheros. Wow, both were delicious. The shrimp came in a red-type sauce and there was a lot of shrimp for $12.95. They were cooked to perfection. The size of the steak ($12.95) was generous and also very tasty. The sides of beans and rice were good and the tortilla's were piping hot when they arrived at our table. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, I asked the waitress if the "free Margarita when you show your hotel key" deal was still going and was told it was. The Margarita was great (and free). I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“No wonder it is so popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mariscos was just a block from our hotel. My wife had heard that it was a good spot so decided to try. It was a Friday night in Lent, and were they busy. We waited about a half hour for a table. While waiting we saw lots of happy people eating, from couples to large families. When we got a table and looked at the menu, so many choices. New Mexico doesn't have any seashore, but when you combine NM cooking, and lots of seafood choices, this is what you get.
Service was friendly. It didn't take too long for our food to come up, quite a surprise for a place so busy. Oh wow, everything was so good. We were too full for desert.
All those cars in the parking lot, those folks all had lots of choices of wheree to eat. They chose Mariscos for a reason. The food is sooooo good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mexican Seafood done well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our favorite Mexican restaurant for our birthdays and anniversary - and at other times when we need a seafood or Mexican food fix! Wide variety of dishes on the menu and perfect for treating out-of-town visitors as well because there is no need to fear the heat! We've never been disappointed with any dish we've tried. The prices are extremely reasonable for the quality and quantity. Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have eaten here MANY times and we have NEVER been disappointed. The best beef fajitas in town, T-bone - great, crab enchiladas - great, shrimp wrapped in bacon - great, carne asada and tapenquena steak - great and much more. We live out of town and stop here when ever come in. We have even driven in just to have a great meal with great service. It doesn't look like much from the outside but what's inside is really good. I hope you like it as much as we have.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Altamar also viewed

Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Mariscos Altamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscos Altamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.