We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Charritos Mexican Restaurant

El Charritos Mexican Restaurant
4703 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87105
(505) 836-2464
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 1,533 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After 12 hours on the road, my husband and I weren't anxious to get back in the car to find a place to eat. We were staying at the Sandia Peak Inn across the street and decided we'd rather walk to this place and take a chance than drive somewhere else. We were both happy we did. The service was prompt and friendly, the portions generous and the food was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could've been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I know people who love this place, but the food is only so-so and the service was lackluster at best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Is it the best green chile in Albuquerque? You probably wouldn’t get much of an argument here. Is it the spiciest red chile in town? See above.
We love this place. Friendly, efficient service. Terrific food. Large portions. Good prices. On this trip, I just wasn’t in the mood for rice and beans, so I had a bowl of green chile with beans and chicken. Simply delicious, with lots of pintos and a huge amount of shredded, tender white meat. I didn’t make much of a dent in the serving and probably have enough left over for two meals. Not bad for a little more than $7. My wife picked her standby, huevos rancheros, with beans, potatoes and a hearty serving of red. She’s no wimp but still broke off chunks of the sopapilla as she ate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofallon, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great food. Enjoyed the Huevo Rancheros & Chili Relleno's w/ Green Chili's. Sopapillas were excellent! Very good value for the price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Even better this time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This restaurant was across from out motel, and we have eaten lunch here each time we stayed. This year, the place looked more settled than last - more furniture and permanent decorations. The service was good, and our food was very good. I don't like spicy, so had a BLT. My husband enjoyed his enchiladas, and had to get a doggy bag for part of it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charritos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Charritos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Charritos Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.