We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindy's American Cafe

Lindy's American Cafe
500 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
505-242-2582
Improve this listing
Ranked #450 of 1,536 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Restaurant details
Canyon, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We travel to Albuquerque several times a year and travel through it at least as often and we always make sure we stop here. It is a typical greasy-spoon type diner with a nice sized menu and good prices. The service seems to be a bit irratic, but we've decided that the food is so good, it's worth the wait if we end up there on one of the days the waitresses are a bit off. I always get the huevos rancheros and it is truly awesome, the best I've ever had. My husband gets a giant traditional breakfast of sorts, I don't remember the name, but it's eggs, bacon, hashbrowns and pancakes. The large portions can be hard to finish, but somehow we both manage. The cofffee is good in that diner black coffee not too weak, not too strong kind of way and we've never eaten anything there that we didn't love.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lindy's on Central Avenue/ Rte 66!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The address is incorrect for the original Lindy's Diner located on Central Avenue/ Rte 66 at the same location since the 1920s. This is an original 'working class diner" Good food, great value, clean, simple and no frills.

I stopped for breakfast on Sunday morning, while in Albuquerque for a week long conference.
I had the steak & eggs. The steak was excellent, such incredible quality for a $10 breakfast. I am sorry I could not get back for another breakfast. The waitstaff was friendly and welcoming. Great value. I will stop again the next trip to ABQ.
They are open til 3AM both Saturday/ Sunday mornings.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Awesome surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We found this place through the GPS but it was a great surprise. The food is tasty, abundant and the service was friendly for great value for the money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lindy's, It's Been There Forever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is the real live cafe on Route 66. The booths, the counter and the food are for real. I particularly like to eat the huevos rancheros at breakfast when in ABQ.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Old time atmosphere, really good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I was in Alb. for a conference, 4 days. I had been to Lindy's several years ago and remembered the breakfast there as good enough. I went back and was really pleased. For about 10 bucks I got the Hungry Man Breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash-browns, pancakes, toast). I was really impressed. Nothing pre-cooked; the sausage was plump and juicy (links) and probably the highlight. But the whole thing was good and fast. I went again before I left town and had eggs and hashbrowns; again, good food. Service was great, chatty servers, but only because I was in a chatty mood. Great value. I haven't had anything from the rest of the menu, but am told that the burgers were quite good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindy's American Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lindy's American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindy's American Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.