We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Home Cookin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's & Tito's Cafe

Mary's & Tito's Cafe
2711 4th St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1329 (Near North Valley)
505-344-6266
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,540 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Near North Valley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Home Cookin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Truly authentic hole in the wall, mama and pop kind of place. Not fancy, not fussy. Seat yourself at any vinyl covered table. It's all about the food here. And it's made with love.
Carne adobada is very rich and complex having it with a combo of red and green chili was the way to go. It's almost as good as Barela's but open later.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    51
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch and cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went to Mary and Tito's after not visiting in several months. Forgot what a great New Mexican restaurant this is. While enjoying great Huevos Rancheros and a Combination plate special, my wife noticed that one of the family members was putting the finishing touches on a freshly baked cake. Didn't know what it was, but, we decided we wanted a piece. It was a wonderful walnut and pineapple cake, which we later discovered is a mexican wedding cake that the restaurant is famous for. Guess what, the charge for the cake that my wife and I shared ( it was plenty for two and we guessed that the charge might be $6.00) was $2.50. Unbelievable. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place where the locals are eating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

One of the best meals we had. Great food and great price. $6.95 for lunch. Place was filled with locals. It's not white table cloth, but food was great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our party of four had just flown into Albuquerque on our way to Santa Fe and our first stop for a late lunch was at Mary & Tito's. The food was delicious with ample portions and a large selection. The service was prompt and friendly. Do not miss the carne adovada!! We had a nice chat with Mary's daughter and then met Mary, herself, She is a treasure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Colorado
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very tasty food here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Husband and I both had the large combination plate which included a taco, tamale, cheese enchilada, beans and rice. A basket of chips and salsa came before the meal. The salsa was quite good. The red chili over the entrees was a bit hot but very tasty. Only complaint would be the food could have been heated more. The cheese in the enchilada was not melted at all. The cost of the meal was very, very reasonable. We'll try it again in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's & Tito's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mary's & Tito's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's & Tito's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.