We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understand why it was recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's & Tito's Cafe

Mary's & Tito's Cafe
2711 4th St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1329 (Near North Valley)
505-344-6266
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Near North Valley
Park Forest, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Understand why it was recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We asked where to go for great New Mexican cooling. We went for lunch. We were seated quickly, our waitress was attentive, patient and informative. The food was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    54
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“dive-in good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place is just the sort of hole in the wall that you'd expect from a real mom and pop restaurant. The decor is no frills and so is the food and wait staff. Go for the food and you won't be disappointed. The Carne Adovada is stellar!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Service is really good, food's good too! kinda cheap too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Is it the best food in ABQ? for the price probably, it's cheap, just enough food for the price and still good quality and the service just what I wanted, efficient smiling, pleasant, fast.

Arrived as a single diner at just after 3, parking is limited , mostly in back or on street parking.
I ordered the monday special Christmas , taco, CR, enchillada.. service was quick , pleasant and the server checked back just enough but not too often. The restaurant is oldish...but clean enough.

At that time of day there may have been 6 customers in the main dining room and I was placed in the second dining room alone. (which was fine with me). They wanted to mop the floor of the main room.

Food was good , and they are known for their red sauce which had a smokey thick flavor to it, the salsa tasted a bit strange (maybe had lime in it?) but I got used to it. the CR was crisply coated, interesting since most places the coating isn't that well done. the taco was good the enchillada good too, nothing overly seasoned which is nice , since many restaurants go heavy on the salts , this restaurant plays it mildly seasoned. I'd go back and try something else.

The food was "inexpensive" for ABQ . 7 bucks for this special /combo meal..(water). I tipped very high , due to them not soaking me and the service was spectacular for the price.

It's nice to see service like this at a "mom and pop" restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's the real thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Mary and Tito's appears to be a well run family restaurant. There are no pretensions here, just very good authentic New Mexican food. Servings are large enough for sharing. Service is excellent. Both locals and tourists were present when we were there. The only criticisms I would have is that they do not serve beer and that they close at 6 o'clock on weekdays and 8 o'clock on weekends. It you are looking for the real deal New Mexican food restaurant I recommend this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are looking for high prices and haute cuisine in a modern sleek design ambiance, don't eat here. But if you are looking for fabulous mexican food in a traditional setting, this James Beard award winning restaurant is a treasure! The chicken enchiladas with green chili sauce is fabulous. This is a small cafe with booths and wooden tables. The booths are worn in places but everything is clean. The service is very good and the prices are amazingly low. I had the delicious Monday Special of chicken enchilada, beef taco and chile relleno with rice and refried beans... all of that for $6.00. No alcohol is served here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's & Tito's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mary's & Tito's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's & Tito's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.