We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Mexicano

Taqueria Mexicano
415 Lomas Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
(505) 242-3445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I ate at this place almost every week when i lived near it. This place is very small and is just to popular to try to find a seat during rush hour. this is a take out restrant. the staff is nice athentic, and fast! so fast, the food will tease you its so hot! when you get it you'll have to wait to eat it!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mexican, not New Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I just arrived in town and stumbled across the Taqueria Mexicana. Real Mexican food. You can line up outside and get take out or sit in the tiny dining area - and may have to wait. Well worth it. I had the chile rellenos. Good, cheap and filling. Mostly Spanish speaking clientele.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“serendipity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

vacationing in albuquerque and happened along this restaurant by accident. the food was extraordinary and so delicious! the prices were very reasonable. the wait staff and cooks were really friendly and fast.
we were fortunate to get a table and i hope that this establishment is able to move into a larger place one day. i have no doubt whatsoever that they would pack any size restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Even Better On The Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was our second time to eat at Taqueria Mexicano. So we tried different items this time. Pork tamales and carnitas tacos. They were both just great. It was busy as usual but we got a seat. The food was very reasonably priced, was hot, was served timely, and with very friendly wait staff. We highly recommend this little surprise restaurant !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Great Place For Great Food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This one was a bit of good luck. Looked it up.... saw the ratings and tried it. There was a bit of a wait as it was lunch time, but it was very much worth the wait. The staff was very friendly and very fast. But it was the food that was the best part. We had carnitas tacos and a burrito. They were both absolutely the best we have ever eaten.
A truly wonderful experience. We are going back through Albuquerque this summer and plan to eat there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Mexicano also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Mexicano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.