We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come to Albuquerque for High Tea?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St James Tearoom

The St James Tearoom
320 Osuna Rd NE, Bldg D, Albuquerque, NM 87107
(505) 242-3752
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,501 restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: British, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Come to Albuquerque for High Tea?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When you come to Albuquerque for a visit, you're probably not coming here for high tea, but since you're here, you need to put that on your list of to-do's. You need to experience the St. James Tearoom. Alright, I confess, I have been a tea drinker since I was five years old when my grandmother helped me begin the addiction, but having the opportunity for a high tea experience has not always been easy. Having said this, I have been to a number of fine tea establishments and St. James is the finest of them all. They cater to the locals with special event teas; they have teas for children; they have teas for men where they enjoy cigars; and now they even have beer. They really want to focus on the finer moments of life where one can just sit and enjoy something simple but lavish.

Yes, it is women who flock here, but I have treated a number of men who actually have returned again and again with me and often times they treat, so maybe it's not a bad idea to invite a man or two as a good investment in future teas. The friends I have taken here from out of town always remember St. James as a highlight of their visit.

The tearoom is very flexible in offering vegetarian savories and decaffeinated teas, but you do need to request ahead. They will also swap a tea variety if there is one you really want that day, but it is not on the menu for the month. You definitely want to make a reservation before you leave home, as you do not want to be disappointed when you get to Albuquerque.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    50
    10
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful way to spend a couple of hours with family. Everything from the ambience, food and service was wonderful. We have been to several teas across the US and world. St James is top notch. We loved it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exquisite Downton-Abbey-like experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you love Downton Abbey, you've got to go to the St James Tea Room! Two hours, three pots of tea, three plates of delicious gourmet hors d'oeuvres: (1) savories, (2) breads, and (3) desserts. You'll be surprisingly full by the time you leave. But really, it's all about the atmosphere. This is a favorite place for spending quality time with friends and loved ones!

Some suggestions:
* Go with your lady friends (and any men who like tea and dainty food, and don't mind a somewhat girly experience).
* Make reservations at least 3 WEEKS ahead of time if you want to go on a Saturday!
* Wear dressy clothes - skirts or dresses, heels, etc.
* Arrive early to browse through the very cool gift shop
* On the way in you'll see a selection of hats on the wall - help yourself to a loaner hat to wear during your tea, it's fun to get into the spirit of things
* They pre-define the three teas that they'll be serving, but are happy to change them to any of the teas on the menu if you give them a heads-up first.
* Now they are serving beer and cordials as well as tea, if you so prefer.
* Perfect for special occasions or spending time with the special people in your life

I just love this very unique way to spend time with friends and family. It's also great to surprise out-of-town friends who don't expect an experience like this in Albuquerque. I've been to high tea in other places, including the Empress Room in Victoria, and none of them hold a candle to the St James Tea Room!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Step into another time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a nice surprise behind a nondescript parking lot. Walk through the gate and you're in another world. Extensive gardens with benches to sit and enjoy while you wait to be called. Inside you are greeted by a quaint tea shop that leads to narrow hallways leading to the tearoom. Each group is assigned a wait person who introduces herself and the menu food and tea: very thorough and informative. The tea is chosen to accompany the food which is somewhat standard high tea fare (i.e. cucumber sandwiches) deliciously prepared. The only thing that put me off was a slight feeling of being regimented: time to sit down, time to leave, 1 of everything for each person, scripted explanations of the fare. But this was a minor issue compared to the cozy trip back to the past.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tea Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been quite a number of times, both in the old location and the new one. Definitely love the new location and improved tea selection (not that it was small before).

I enjoy our "tea times" there, where we can casually enjoy ourselves (a good excuse to shut off the phone for awhile), and between the tea and food (when combined its a decent meal, you just don't scarf it down), I am always left satisfied.

I look forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The St James Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to The St James Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St James Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.