We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar

Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar
6521 Americas Pkwy NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110 (Uptown)
(505) 884-8937
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #453 of 1,535 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Firstly, you need to know that there are two restaurants with teh same name next to each other in this office plaza near the Marriott and Hilton. One is the steak place and the other is the sushi. They are owned by the same company.

We ate at teh sushi place and tried multiple samples fo various foods Everything was quite good but not spectacular. The miso soup was a bit saltier than Im used to but tasty.

I found the prices quite reasonable, especially considering that Albuquerque is no where near an ocean.

Service was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great teppan grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Japanese Kitchen in Albuquerque has two sections-- sushi restaurant and teppan grill. We ate at the teppan grill. There are many similar restaurants, typified by the Benihana chain. All have more or less the same food, and we always have the same thing-- filet mignon. This restaurant simply had the best prepared meat of any we have experienced. The chef's theatrics were above average also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is one of the best sushi places in Albuquerque and it is owned and operated by Japanese people - a big plus! The fish is fresh, the presentation is very pretty and the servers are very nice and helpful. Love the eel rolls and shrimp tempura rolls here. You can't go wrong with Japanese Kitchen

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We decided to eat here because we wanted sushi & it was in walking distance of our hotel. We should have done some research. We ordered 6 different rolls. Only one was above average. Kids all ordered fried rice & even it was below average. We would not eat here again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grumpy Servers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been here a number of times, mainly because it it right next to my work. I have finally decided that even that close convenience doesn't justify going here. While the sushi chefs have always nice, the grumpy (and rude) female wait staff is just too much and the sushi itself is just below average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.